• Hi, I'm the owner and main administrator of Styleforum. If you find the forum useful and fun, please help support it by buying through the posted links on the forum. Our main, very popular sales thread, where the latest and best sales are listed, are posted HERE

    Purchases made through some of our links earns a commission for the forum and allows us to do the work of maintaining and improving it. Finally, thanks for being a part of this community. We realize that there are many choices today on the internet, and we have all of you to thank for making Styleforum the foremost destination for discussions of menswear.
  • STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

    Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

    Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

    Styleforum is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

cable/dish/etc help

pauliodotnet

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
340
Reaction score
0
So I have about 4 LCD tv's and a projector in the house. the only tv I do not mind having a box for is the projector, as it has the recievers and so forth.

all the other tv's are currently mounted on the walls, and have the cables hidden behind the walls, so it is a "floating" tv. They can NOT take boxes because i would have no where to put it.

I am wanting to quit my cable, any solutions? I thought about getting all the boxes down stairs, and getting RF remotes, but 3 floors and a RF remote doesn't work well.

TIA
 

Ambulance Chaser

Stylish Dinosaur
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Messages
13,771
Reaction score
9,622
Where are the cable boxes right now? Why not a nice looking media cabinet under each TV to store the cable box?
 

$unny

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
why not receivers on the middle floor?
 

pauliodotnet

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
340
Reaction score
0
Originally Posted by Ambulance Chaser
Where are the cable boxes right now? Why not a nice looking media cabinet under each TV to store the cable box?

they do not have boxes, they are just plugged in, cox cable offers the basic channels nbc, abc, cbs, and fox in HD for free.
 

pauliodotnet

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
340
Reaction score
0
i would like to have the boxes downstairs in the media closet I already have. here is why I do not want some type of cabinet or anything to hold the boxes.
suedewall.jpg
 

dkzzzz

Distinguished Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
5,294
Reaction score
21
You need corwn moldings much more than you need cable. Seriously, crown molding will improve your love-life.
 

pauliodotnet

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
340
Reaction score
0
Originally Posted by dkzzzz
You need corwn moldings much more than you need cable. Seriously, crown molding will improve your love-life.

great input for my tv problem.

I am not sure why they did not continue the crown molding, but for now I am alright w/o it.
 

DMcG

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
278
Reaction score
16
I'm confused. You want to quit your cable but you want to add boxes. Do you definitely want to go to satellite? If your LCD TVs are cable card compatible that would be the easiest solution if what you want is more channels and you aren't set on getting rid of cable.
 

sonick

Distinguished Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
5,686
Reaction score
406
There are systems that pass IR over Cat5 LAN cables. But that means you'll have to put in runs of Cat5 if they aren't already in there.
 

Featured Sponsor

What is the most important handwork to have on a shirt?

  • Hand attached collar

    Votes: 16 30.2%
  • Handsewn button holes

    Votes: 17 32.1%
  • Hand finish on yolk and shoulders

    Votes: 20 37.7%

Forum statistics

Threads
496,612
Messages
10,508,928
Members
221,590
Latest member
BenW
Top