Wool Blazer vs Wool-blend blazer?

Discussion in 'Menswear Advice' started by ATMFan95, Feb 12, 2017.

1. ATMFan95

ATMFan95 Member

I am new to blazers I never even had one despite being 21 years old so I don't have experience when it comes to blazer
    I decided to buy one but I can't decide vetween two blazers

One of the is 100 % wool (100 % polyster lining) : I am afraid of the bobbling of wool making it look crappy yet I've heard that wool garments hold their color alot better than synthetic-blended garments

The second one is 45% wool and 55% polyster : what encourages me is that it might be more "bobbling-resistant" because of the polyster yet I am afraid that it loses its color quickly and thus look crappy :/

Both are from Land's End by the way

2. ThomGault

ThomGault Senior member

I have no experience with those lands end blazers, but 100% wool is generally better than such a high poly blend. Wool is more breathable than polyester, and polyester is usually seen in low-quality garments (or vintage items from an era when poly was seen as the material of the marvelous future.) If you're worried about longevity, though, I wouldn't buy from lands end---their quality has taken a dive and they're no longer the stalwart clothier as in in the past. Additionally, pilling isn't a big issue in quality wool garments.

3. ATMFan95

ATMFan95 Member

Sure 100 % wool garment would beat a poly-blend garment anyday when it comes to the Texture , comfortability and holding its colour ( I even have a cheap wool sweater that is still looking great even though I hand wash it too often )