Why do you like clothes?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by matadorpoeta, Dec 8, 2003.

1. matadorpoeta

matadorpoeta Senior member

all of us here on the style forum are into our clothes, and i think most of us like shopping, but i don't think we've discussed why.

i'll start. i approach my clothes as an opportunity for self expression (what isn't?). i'm not a clothing designer or maker. i don't know how to sew. at one point i considered taking up tailoring (when i was unsure about college). i attended the first few days of a tailoring course, but dropped out because i felt the work was too tedious for me. it just wasn't my thing, and since then i've learned that i'm not very good with my hands.

so even though i don't make clothes, i have a preference for custom made clothing. not so much because of the superior construction and fit, but because it gives me a chance to play designer.

there are some musicians who aspire to play the great classic compositions and never try to write their own music. then there are those who are only interested in making their own music, no matter how awful it may be. i'm definitley one of the latter, literally.

2. Alias

Alias Senior member