What's Everyone's Take on Hunter Boots?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by jz687, Oct 17, 2009.

1. jz687

jz687 Member

Hi, I need a pair of rainboots, and I've been looking at either the Hunter Short Originals or the low Tretorn Strala boots... I can't decide and would love to know what you guys think! P.S. I'm a student, who would only be wearing them around school for the 4 hours a day I'm there... in a cold climate city. So the only things Id be tucking into them are jeans. Thanks
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. mafoofan

mafoofan THE FOO Dubiously Honored

Maybe I'm being stupid, but I don't understand how people are using these in the city. You still have to carry your real shoes to change into later since you can't wear rubber boots around the office, and it doesn't sound like a good idea to stuff your trouser pants into them to begin with.

3. chestercopperpot

chestercopperpot Senior member

Maybe I'm being stupid, but I don't understand how people are using these in the city. You still have to carry your real shoes to change into later since you can't wear rubber boots around the office, and it doesn't sound like a good idea to stuff your trouser pants into them to begin with.

i agree, unless you plan on wearing your hunter boots all day (which some people do so they look like they just left a farm) i would pass on them.

i would just buy some bean boots, you can wear those all day and they sometimes look pretty cool with a suit. i wore mine with my heavyweight shetland suit and it looked really good. though i give credit to the 2.5" cuff.

4. jz687

jz687 Member

P.S. I'm a student, who would only be wearing them around school for the 4 hours a day I'm there... in a cold climate city. So the only things Id be tucking into them are jeans.

5. mafoofan

mafoofan THE FOO Dubiously Honored