What to do when stuck in a dead end job?

Discussion in 'Business, Careers & Education' started by pokey07, Nov 17, 2011.

1. pokey07

pokey07 Senior member

I've been in the same position for 2 years, and I'm clearly not going anywhere. I have a degree in economics but my job uses 0% of it. I haven't really been able to develop any marketable skills besides getting better with access and excel. I'm just completely lost on where to go from here. Any advice?

2. landshark

landshark Senior member

A description of your job would help. But generally, you have a few options:

1. Start your own business
    2. Look for a new job at another company
    3. Find out what it takes to get a promotion and do it
    4. Complacency

3. landshark

landshark Senior member

Last edited: Nov 17, 2011

4. blackstone

blackstone Well-Known Member

quit or come and work for me.
    i need an economist to help out with stress testing!

5. pokey07

pokey07 Senior member

Sorry, I'm hesitant about describing my job because it's such a niche position.

I should have also mentioned I've been applying to jobs for about 4 months, and have not received a single interview. I've thought about going back to school, but the last thing I wanna do is dump more money into school just to end up right back here.

As for promotions, the upward mobility here is extremely limited. Extremely.

6. CYstyle

CYstyle Senior member

Have you had people look at your resume? How are you finding and applying for jobs?

7. otc

otc Senior member

You can't describe your job but you don't do anything but get slightly better at excel and access?
    Seems to me anything that was super-niched to the point where you are afraid to talk about it on the internet would involve something more than [GENERIC OFFICE WORKER SKILLSET].

Also most jobs use 0% of your undergraduate degree and excel is a super marketable skill (although everyone says it so it is hard to prove that you are better)

8. pokey07

pokey07 Senior member