what is the quality of dormeuil?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by scarphe, Jul 27, 2007.

1. scarphe

scarphe Senior member

I have never used there fabric before for suits and would like to know how it stands in respect to other producers and is it worth the added cost?
    Normally a suit cost 525 usd but using Dormeul super 120s tropical they are asking 725 usd for a bespoke suit.
    Another thing to connsider is that I am not particular about suits, so if Dormeuil is not worth the 200 usd i would rather spend it on shoes.

thanks

2. Manton

Manton RINO Dubiously Honored

Some of it is very good; all of it is very expensive. You can find comparable or better quality for less. Whether the merchant you want to use carries that is another matter. Also, Dormeuil does a lot of unique designs, so if you have your heart set on one in particular, you probably have no choice but to pay their price.

3. Holdfast

Holdfast Senior member

I have a couple of suits using material from their Royal 12 book (12oz, S120, quite jazzy patterns generally) which seems to wear very well so far. But that's a pretty small sample size to draw any firm conclusions from.

4. dopey

dopey Senior member Dubiously Honored

I have an irrational prejudice against Dormeuil and consider it flashy, tacky stuff. Same with Scabal. I think that even when I am looking at a piece of solid navy worsted. Since I can't offer you any real basis for my opinion, you should ignore it.

5. Manton

Manton RINO Dubiously Honored

I have an irrational prejudice against Dormeuil and consider it flashy, tacky stuff. Same with Scabal. I think that even when I am looking at a piece of solid navy worsted. Since I can't offer you any real basis for my opinion, you should ignore it.

The basis would be that those firms make a lot of tacky stuff that Smith and Lesser would never touch, so even when you see traditional goods from them, the brand remains tainted in your mind.

6. dopey