Watches

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by Ranjeev, Nov 11, 2002.

1. Ranjeev

Ranjeev Senior member

I am currently a student with a limited budget. That said, I am looking to purchase a new watch. Any suggestions in the $500 range. I am currently leaning towards a Tissot Quickster chronograph with a black leather band (below is a link that I hope works). Any comments on the quality of Tissot watches or a watch in the $500 range I should be considering would be appreciated. http:Tissot Watch

2. bigbadbuff

bigbadbuff Senior member

looks similiar to the Tag Heuer Monza re-issue, but not quite as nice. I can't comment on that brand as I am unfamiliar with it, maybe others here are.

3. Ambulance Chaser

Ambulance Chaser Senior member

I cannot comment on the quality of Tissot watches, but I have seen them offered for sale on websites that sell higher end watches, so I assume that the brand is fairly reputable. I assume that you are looking for an everyday watch that can go with everything from jeans and a T-shirt to a suit and tie. Â To that end, I recommend that you go for a stainless steel model with leather strap or bracelet, traditional round shape, and plain dial (no chronograph). Â Something along the lines of the IWC Mark XV, but at a lower price point. For $500, you might want to consider buying a used watch. Â Watches, like cars, depreciate in value very quickly (excepting Rolex and Patek and a few other premium brands) and you will probably be able to find a 1-2 year old watch with minimal wear selling for upwards of 50% off its original list price. Â I'm in the market myself for a sports/weekend watch that is dressy enough to wear to the office, and I've been scouting out several sites. Â Not knowing your tastes, I can't refer you to any particular model, but you may want to check out the following sellers who have good reputations and good selections: The Watchseller BernardWatch.com Happy Hunting.

4. Renwick

Renwick Senior member