Warm weather-friendly jeans

Discussion in 'Streetwear and Denim' started by markr, Jun 18, 2006.

1. markr

markr Senior member

I'm going to be spending this summer in Virginia, where it can get mighty hot and humid. As far as casual pants, I prefer jeans (typically Levis and <$100). I try to avoid khakis and chinos at all costs. Unfortunately, traditional denim jeans can get pretty uncomfortable when it's 90 degrees and 100% humidity. Wondering if anyone can point me to some lightweight jeans (or other khakis/chinos alternative) that might be more warm weather-friendly.

2. DNW

DNW Senior member

3. Babar

Babar Senior member

There's some Helmut Lang linen blends at yoox, but I have no experience with them myself. Once the price goes down further I'll probably pull the trigger on a pair

4. markr

markr Senior member

Thanks for the linen blend suggestion. I also seem to remember a few years ago seeing what seemed like lightweight denim jeans. I could be making this up, or possibly they were linen blend and I didn't realize it. Does anyone know if there's such a thing as lightweight denim jeans?

5. LA Guy

LA Guy Opposite Santa Staff Member Admin Moderator

Thanks for the linen blend suggestion. I also seem to remember a few years ago seeing what seemed like lightweight denim jeans. I could be making this up, or possibly they were linen blend and I didn't realize it. Does anyone know if there's such a thing as lightweight denim jeans?

Sure, you can get denim down to about 8 ounces. J.P. D'amage Rode Hards were this weight, of the more commonly available brands. Most of these are 2x1 denims, (although I think that the D'amages used a 3x1 RHT) and they are bordering on chambray. I think that 10 ounces is more common. The lighter weight Rag & Bones, pretty much any pair of Paper Denims or Earnest Sewns, are abut this weight. 14+ ounce denim is actually pretty rare except in repros, niche brands, and really cowboy jeans, yeehah.

6. xcoldricex