• I'm happy to introduce the Styleforum Happy Hour, our brand new podcast featuring lively discussion about menswear and the fashion industry. In the inaugural edition, a discussion of what's going on in retail today. Please check it out on the Journal. All episodes will be also be available soon on your favorite podcast platform.

  • Styleforum Gives - Holiday Charity Auction 8: Cuir de Russie card case from Equus Leather

    We are very proud to present this year's edition of the Styleforum Holiday Charity Auctions, this year in support of the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Spokane (www.rmhcspokane.org). Each Auction lasts 24 hours. Please follow and bid on all the auctions.

    The 8th auction is for a Cuir de Russie card case from Equus Leather. Please bid often and generously here

    Fok and the Styleforum Team.

  • STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

    Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

    Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

TV Question

Stu

Distinguished Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
2,351
Reaction score
13
I bought a nice 20-inch LCD recently. The other day I got a Sony Home Theater. To my surprise, there is no audio out from the TV that would allow me to run Cable TV viewing through the home theater. A call to Phillips, the TV's manufacturer, confirmed this. I guess there is no way I can listen to regular TV through the sound system, correct? Doesn't this seem strange that new technology would not include something so basic as an audio out?
 

matadorpoeta

Distinguished Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
4,458
Reaction score
1
i don't have a cable box, but i'm looking at the back of my satelite reciever and it has a ton of audio out options that i could run to a home theater reciever. i would guess your cable box would have these too.
 

j

(stands for Jerk)
Admin
Spamminator Moderator
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
14,914
Reaction score
98
You can get around this by hooking up the cable to a DVD or VCR with audio outs. Just keep the TV on Video 1 or whatever, and use the DVD to change channels. It's kind of a pain, but that's the way people have always done it.

I lucked out when I bought my TV many years ago as it has modulated audio outs, meaning that you can use the TV remote to change channels and control volume and the audio outs respond to the changes in volume. Back then, that was very rare.
 

Bradford

Current Events Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
6,714
Reaction score
163
You need a cable box - we have digital cable with an Onkyo Home Theatre system, so I run the audio from the cable box to the surround system. Unfortunately, this does mean separate remotes for the TV/Cable and the sound system, but it works quite well.
 

Stu

Distinguished Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
2,351
Reaction score
13
Originally Posted by Bradford
You need a cable box - we have digital cable with an Onkyo Home Theatre system, so I run the audio from the cable box to the surround system. Unfortunately, this does mean separate remotes for the TV/Cable and the sound system, but it works quite well.


So without a cable box I can't do it? I was thinking I could just run the cable itself into the DVD..
 

Bradford

Current Events Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
6,714
Reaction score
163
Originally Posted by Stu
So without a cable box I can't do it? I was thinking I could just run the cable itself into the DVD..

Wouldn't the DVD have to have a tuner? I don't think mine does, but other models might.
 

odoreater

Distinguished Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
8,739
Reaction score
43
Originally Posted by Bradford
You need a cable box - we have digital cable with an Onkyo Home Theatre system, so I run the audio from the cable box to the surround system. Unfortunately, this does mean separate remotes for the TV/Cable and the sound system, but it works quite well.

I use this really huge Universal remote control that allows you to program into it anything that uses infrared signals to work (which most remotes use) - takes away the need for a bunch of seperate remotes.
 

j

(stands for Jerk)
Admin
Spamminator Moderator
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
14,914
Reaction score
98
Originally Posted by Bradford
Wouldn't the DVD have to have a tuner? I don't think mine does, but other models might.
Right, that's what I forgot. It has to have a tuner. This was much more common in the VCR days. You hook the cable up to the VCR and use the VCR remote to change channels, the TV remote to turn on and off the TV and the stereo remote to do the volume. Though some universal remotes will allow you to do all of these from the same remote control.
 

Stu

Distinguished Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
2,351
Reaction score
13
As an update to this, a guy at Comp USA today suggested I get a Monster Ipod cable, hook the small plug into the headphone jack of the TV and hook the 2 RCA plugs into the DVD. IT worked, but sounded like shit, very distorted, kind of like when you can't quite tune in a radio station.
 

Joffrey

Stylish Dinosaur
Joined
Jun 18, 2006
Messages
12,049
Reaction score
865
I think the important question here is: In the 21st Century, why didn't his TV Manufacturer include all the neccessary outlets on his TV?
 

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by

Featured Sponsor

How many pairs of shoes do you own?

  • 1 - 4

    Votes: 30 3.7%
  • 5 - 10

    Votes: 141 17.3%
  • 11 - 20

    Votes: 265 32.5%
  • 21 - 30

    Votes: 129 15.8%
  • 31 - 40

    Votes: 70 8.6%
  • 41 - 50

    Votes: 48 5.9%
  • 51 - 60

    Votes: 25 3.1%
  • 61 - 70

    Votes: 22 2.7%
  • 71 - 80

    Votes: 17 2.1%
  • 81 - 90

    Votes: 7 0.9%
  • 91 - 100

    Votes: 9 1.1%
  • 100+

    Votes: 52 6.4%

Related Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
429,042
Messages
9,227,539
Members
193,697
Latest member
LSF
Top