Thrifted Shoes - Critique! Comment! Advise!

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by epic raccoon, Feb 25, 2011.

1. epic raccoon

epic raccoon Senior member

Hey all,

I'm a poor university student, frequent SF lurker, and avid thrifter. I recently obtained several pairs of shoes ($5-20 each). I tend to dress older than I am; suits are very common for me, but my standard outfit is a good pair of trousers or Levi's with a dress shirt and sport coat; tie on occasion. I was in search of daily beater shoes I wouldn't have to drop a pretty penny on (i.e. Alden; AE; any of the English shoemakers) because I have a tendency to ruin good shoes.

[​IMG]

Gave them all a good ol' Lysol treatment followed by Kiwi leather lotion and shoe polish.

What do you all think?

Unbranded Leather Soled Wingtip Bluchers ($5.00)
    The previous owners' insoles made the logo unreadable; all I can make out are "Made in USA". 360° welted construction in acceptable condition. Would it be possible (and financially feasible) to have this pair resoled?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I was considering perhaps using black or blue polish to accentuate the unique colour and appearance of the leather. Thoughts?

Kenneth Cole Made in Italy Rubber Soled "Double Captoe" Boots ($10)
    Comfortable and convenient. I love this pair.

[​IMG]

Façonnable Made in Italy Leather Plain Toe Vibram Sole Chukka Boots ($15)
    I am in love with this pair, but the condition of the leather uppers and the Vibram soles are questionable. Is this pair worth salvadging, and if so, what would I expect in terms of cost and reparations?

[​IMG]

Any words of wisdom greatly appreciated. [​IMG]

2. mlongano

mlongano Senior member

Well, I'm sure that plenty of folks here will feel that you got a great deal...

...I was in college in 1969-1973...I worked part time for $1.60 an hour...I NEVER bought a pair of used shoes, but if you're happy with them, that's really all that matters.

3. SpooPoker