The Suits & Ties of Dr. Hannibal Lecter (NBC TV Show)

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by Dansk, May 22, 2013.

1. Dansk

Dansk New Member

Is it just me, or does anyone else find the suits and ties of Hannibal an extremely enjoyable part of the show? I saw one another thread somewhere that the suits are Tom Ford or at least Tom Ford inspired, can anyone tell me what brand ties those are (or if that's even something you can tell by looking at it) and if there is a name for that classic teardrop looking design is called. (Sorry, I just recently learned what houndstooth was!) I have little experience in the world of fashion, but this is something I need to know.... so I appologize in advance for anything that comes across as a silly question- I'm not new to forums, and I Googled the ties he wears and was shocked that there weren't a lot of threads (no pun intended!) on this across the internet.

Anyone know what the fabric, design, or even brand those ties are? My avitar is a closeup of one of the outfits, but even where I got that photo there was no mention of the ties' maker. They are a deep rich color, but shiney (silk?) so I'm very interested to know who makes them or where I can find fabric similar to this.

Thanks in advance for your help!

2. minervau

minervau Senior member

I too have enjoyed the show and the creators' reimagination of Hannibal as a rather dapper European.

As for the "teardrop" pattern, I believe you're referring to paisley, the pattern on a lot of his ties (people also describe it as kind of amoeba-like):

[​IMG]

I absolutely love his suits and the pattern matching is pretty spot-on as well. The one issue I have is with the ugly way he ties his ties -- very thick knot (likely a full windsor) without a sharp dimple, so it looks a bit sloppy. A good example here:

[​IMG]

3. Dansk

Dansk New Member

Thanks! After Googling the term "paisley", I'm positive that's exactly what I was thinking of.... thanks!