The Home Ownership Thread

Discussion in 'Fine Living, Home, Design & Auto' started by Douglas, Jan 31, 2012.

Tags:
  1. MrG

    MrG Senior member

    Messages:
    12,191
    Likes Received:
    4,345
    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    The Medicine Spring
    Piob, if you're just running a couple things, do you need a whole-house setup?


    Yeah, I remember it being relatively common in Florida, at least in nicer houses, when I was a kid. Then we turned into a hurricane shooting gallery in 2004, and the market exploded.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013


  2. HRoi

    HRoi Senior member

    Messages:
    17,890
    Likes Received:
    5,856
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Yeah, piob might not need the sexy full-power auto-on setup if you're willing to run on diminished capacity while public power is out. The wine cellar should not be a problem - I'm not sure about the A/C if you have a large house and central air
     


  3. SkinnyGoomba

    SkinnyGoomba Senior member

    Messages:
    12,660
    Likes Received:
    1,717
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    

    PB, you can also kill the person working on the line if you do not properly isolate your house from the outside line, with that method.
     


  4. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,499
    Likes Received:
    8,862
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    

    The only threat is water damage :(
     


  5. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,499
    Likes Received:
    8,862
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    

    Utilities are well aware of this issue and have procedures and precautions to eliminate the risk. I know people who work on power lines and they told me about it.

    My father has a 5,000 square foot house and his generator was able to power the whole house no problem, AC and all. He said he had to constantly refill the gasoline tank though, they suck through gas like you would not believe.
     


  6. Piobaire

    Piobaire Not left of center?

    Messages:
    50,420
    Likes Received:
    13,633
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    In My Douchemobile
    I have two, five ton A/C units that would need power at the very least. A few lights and a flatscreen would be nice too.
     


  7. Ataturk

    Ataturk Senior member

    Messages:
    11,564
    Likes Received:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    He powers a 5000 square foot house through a dryer socket?

    I doubt the wire to that socket is big enough to handle the amps. That could be dangerous.
     


  8. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,499
    Likes Received:
    8,862
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    That's what I said, but apparently it is an ok method. I mean, it worked fine during the week he was without power recently.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013


  9. SkinnyGoomba

    SkinnyGoomba Senior member

    Messages:
    12,660
    Likes Received:
    1,717
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    I'm sure thats the case, but I rather not even risk endangering anyone. I've seen these things setup properly for under $100.
     


  10. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,499
    Likes Received:
    8,862
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    

    What does five ton AC mean? What is that in terms of BTUs or watts?
     


  11. Douglas

    Douglas Stupid ass member

    Messages:
    14,658
    Likes Received:
    2,291
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Purseforum
    30-40kW is fucking huge.

    I have been looking at this myself and with some of the smart switching they have in these units these days even a pretty big house can get by with half that much running virtually everything, including two A/C units.

    I was doing the research on this and my house (also with 2 A/C units, 2 refrig, etc) I think I could have even gotten by with 12kW. 20 would be luxurious.

    I too am in an area where we lose power frequently - we're right in the middle of the city but we are on a particularly small and vulnerable grid. Because there are only ~15 houses on that particular spur, we always end up at the bottom of the priority list. I will probably take the plunge in the next 2 years or so.
     


  12. Ataturk

    Ataturk Senior member

    Messages:
    11,564
    Likes Received:
    1,730
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    

    Just 'cause it didn't burn the house down that time doesn't mean it couldn't have or won't next time.

    Really, you need to know the gauge of the wires from that dryer plug to make sure they can handle the amps. If I'm remembering correctly, in my house the dryer wire is smaller than either of my air conditioners (and the small one is only 3.5 tons...).

    A ton is 12,000 BTU, IIRC.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013


  13. Piobaire

    Piobaire Not left of center?

    Messages:
    50,420
    Likes Received:
    13,633
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    In My Douchemobile
    Five tons is about 60k BTU so I would have a total of 120k BTUs.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013


  14. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,499
    Likes Received:
    8,862
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    60k BTU's must cost a fortune to run. At least in NYC it would.
     


  15. aravenel

    aravenel Senior member

    Messages:
    5,624
    Likes Received:
    1,171
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    Seriously. It costs me $300/month just to run the two little window units I have for a combined 15k BTU.
     


Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by