1. And... we're back. You'll notice that all of your images are back as well, as are our beloved emoticons, including the infamous :foo: We have also worked with our server folks and developers to fix the issues that were slowing down the site.

    There is still work to be done - the images in existing sigs are not yet linked, for example, and we are working on a way to get the images to load faster - which will improve the performance of the site, especially on the pages with a ton of images, and we will continue to work diligently on that and keep you updated.

    Cheers,

    Fok on behalf of the entire Styleforum team
    Dismiss Notice

The Home Ownership Thread

Discussion in 'Fine Living, Home, Design & Auto' started by Douglas, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. MrG

    MrG Senior member

    Messages:
    12,175
    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    The Medicine Spring
    Piob, if you're just running a couple things, do you need a whole-house setup?


    Yeah, I remember it being relatively common in Florida, at least in nicer houses, when I was a kid. Then we turned into a hurricane shooting gallery in 2004, and the market exploded.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  2. HRoi

    HRoi Senior member

    Messages:
    17,796
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Yeah, piob might not need the sexy full-power auto-on setup if you're willing to run on diminished capacity while public power is out. The wine cellar should not be a problem - I'm not sure about the A/C if you have a large house and central air
     
  3. SkinnyGoomba

    SkinnyGoomba Senior member

    Messages:
    12,590
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    

    PB, you can also kill the person working on the line if you do not properly isolate your house from the outside line, with that method.
     
  4. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,331
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    

    The only threat is water damage :(
     
  5. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,331
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    

    Utilities are well aware of this issue and have procedures and precautions to eliminate the risk. I know people who work on power lines and they told me about it.

    My father has a 5,000 square foot house and his generator was able to power the whole house no problem, AC and all. He said he had to constantly refill the gasoline tank though, they suck through gas like you would not believe.
     
  6. Piobaire

    Piobaire Senior member

    Messages:
    50,197
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    In My Douchemobile
    I have two, five ton A/C units that would need power at the very least. A few lights and a flatscreen would be nice too.
     
  7. Ataturk

    Ataturk Senior member

    Messages:
    11,075
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    He powers a 5000 square foot house through a dryer socket?

    I doubt the wire to that socket is big enough to handle the amps. That could be dangerous.
     
  8. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,331
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    That's what I said, but apparently it is an ok method. I mean, it worked fine during the week he was without power recently.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  9. SkinnyGoomba

    SkinnyGoomba Senior member

    Messages:
    12,590
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    I'm sure thats the case, but I rather not even risk endangering anyone. I've seen these things setup properly for under $100.
     
  10. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,331
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    

    What does five ton AC mean? What is that in terms of BTUs or watts?
     
  11. Douglas

    Douglas Senior member

    Messages:
    14,658
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Purseforum
    30-40kW is fucking huge.

    I have been looking at this myself and with some of the smart switching they have in these units these days even a pretty big house can get by with half that much running virtually everything, including two A/C units.

    I was doing the research on this and my house (also with 2 A/C units, 2 refrig, etc) I think I could have even gotten by with 12kW. 20 would be luxurious.

    I too am in an area where we lose power frequently - we're right in the middle of the city but we are on a particularly small and vulnerable grid. Because there are only ~15 houses on that particular spur, we always end up at the bottom of the priority list. I will probably take the plunge in the next 2 years or so.
     
  12. Ataturk

    Ataturk Senior member

    Messages:
    11,075
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    

    Just 'cause it didn't burn the house down that time doesn't mean it couldn't have or won't next time.

    Really, you need to know the gauge of the wires from that dryer plug to make sure they can handle the amps. If I'm remembering correctly, in my house the dryer wire is smaller than either of my air conditioners (and the small one is only 3.5 tons...).

    A ton is 12,000 BTU, IIRC.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  13. Piobaire

    Piobaire Senior member

    Messages:
    50,197
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    In My Douchemobile
    Five tons is about 60k BTU so I would have a total of 120k BTUs.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  14. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,331
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    60k BTU's must cost a fortune to run. At least in NYC it would.
     
  15. aravenel

    aravenel Senior member

    Messages:
    5,624
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    Seriously. It costs me $300/month just to run the two little window units I have for a combined 15k BTU.
     
  16. jbarwick

    jbarwick Senior member

    Messages:
    2,973
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Starting to tape off everything to paint this weekend. Two bedrooms and a hallway. It will be the same lighter color but due to different lighting in all 3 areas (natural direct in one bedroom, can lights in hallway, and window with shade from a tree) I am expecting it to feel like 3 different colors. The current Honey Mustard that the previous owners decided to paint the whole house will almost be gone except for the bonus room and bathrooms which will be next.

    So which is worse if you do it yourself, taping or painting?
     
  17. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,331
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    

    Yeah, it is a weird thing though. Even at higher BTU's some units are more efficient than others. It costs me less now to run a 10k and and 14k in my bedroom and living room than two small 5k's in the past.
     
  18. aravenel

    aravenel Senior member

    Messages:
    5,624
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    

    Yeah, one of them is a big standalone unit (hose that vents out the window) because out first apartment had bars over the windows. It's pretty inefficient. Also I just realized that I should have deducted our normal power bill ($100), so it's really $200.

    Going to have another unit this summer though now that we moved, so it'll be more expensive :( Good news is we haven't had to use them yet.
     
  19. brokencycle

    brokencycle Senior member

    Messages:
    9,590
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    The Old North State
    $300 power bills? I get upset when the power bill is more than $100. #smalltimer
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  20. patrickBOOTH

    patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

    Messages:
    33,331
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    Even worse is the gas bill in the winter...
     

Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by