The Desktop PC Building Thread

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by AR_Six, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. unjung

    unjung Senior member

    Messages:
    6,561
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid
    I actually did build that system I priced out. The only thing is, don't get that RAM if you get the same mobo, they don't play well together. I had to exchange mine.
     


  2. AR_Six

    AR_Six "Sookie!"

    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Yeah mine is going to end up being fancier than that build, ultimately.

    Stop worrying about the size of the case. I already said I don't care. It is a non-factor.
     


  3. Rambo

    Rambo Senior member

    Messages:
    27,312
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    I'M IN MIAMI, BITCH
    Yeah mine is going to end up being fancier than that build, ultimately. Stop worrying about the size of the case. I already said I don't care. It is a non-factor.
    I'm not worried, just trying to help. It'll suck if you decide to add three more hard drives and your case doesn't accommodate it.
     


  4. AR_Six

    AR_Six "Sookie!"

    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    No problems there. If I ever use up more than a tb (size of hdd I'm looking at) I'll just get an external. Either way I'm looking at something big enough to hold it all. The coolermaster is mesh and it looks like it'll be good for heat dispersal.
     


  5. Rambo

    Rambo Senior member

    Messages:
    27,312
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    I'M IN MIAMI, BITCH
    No problems there. If I ever use up more than a tb (size of hdd I'm looking at) I'll just get an external. Either way I'm looking at something big enough to hold it all. The coolermaster is mesh and it looks like it'll be good for heat dispersal.
    Ok, so case aside, what are you planning on doing with this thing?
     


  6. Christobevii3

    Christobevii3 Senior member

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Only two or three games benefit much from more than 2 cores at the moment and after 3 or 4 cores there is really no benefit. I'd just go with the 4 core unless the 6 core was the same price or less.

    Future proof never exists and never spend more money if it doesn't benefit you now tbh unless its a motherboard that will give you a cpu upgrade path vs not.
     


  7. deadly7

    deadly7 Senior member

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    194
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    You don't think so? I was thinking for multitasking the 6 core would be an advantage. Also it's futureproof if more games or whatever start making use of 4+ cores.

    I got an asus ma479t deluxe mobo.

    Let's say the 965 black (3.4 ghz 8mb cache) and the 1050t (turbos at 3.3ghz 9mb cache) are the same price. Which would you go with?


    Complete waste to get 6 cores. For day-to-day usage using 6 cores will actually be slower than using 4 cores, unless you have specifically programmed applications that make use of parallelization (I'll give you a hint, you can count the number of those applications on your two hands). Thus, the time to communicate between cores will add overhead to your processing. Stick to the Phenom X4's -- they're amazing processors, especially at their price range. You're also a good man for liking AMD.

    So long as your mobo is socket AM3 you'll do fine with upgrades for at least the next year or two, at a bare minimum, if necessary (unlike Intel).
     


  8. AR_Six

    AR_Six "Sookie!"

    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Ok, so case aside, what are you planning on doing with this thing?
    Everything.

    I don't know how to answer this question. I am going to use it as a computer. It will probably end up under a desk in my room hooked up to a gigantic monitor, but I might hook it up to my plasma. Either way space isn't a concern.
     


  9. AR_Six

    AR_Six "Sookie!"

    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    All I've got so far... but the desk is going to get busier as I go along.

    [​IMG]
     


  10. Rambo

    Rambo Senior member

    Messages:
    27,312
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    I'M IN MIAMI, BITCH
    Everything. I don't know how to answer this question. I am going to use it as a computer. It will probably end up under a desk in my room hooked up to a gigantic monitor, but I might hook it up to my plasma. Either way space isn't a concern.
    Well then I'd fill the bitch with the best bang for the buck CPU, a ton of ram, an ok gpu (more if you if game), a cheap SSD to run the OS, and 2x jumbo HD's for storage (1 for storage and 1 for backup).
     


  11. AR_Six

    AR_Six "Sookie!"

    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    That sounds like a plan.

    Here is what I am thinking -

    HAF 922 case + an extra 200mm fan
    Corsair 750w power supply
    AMD 965BE
    WD Caviar Black 1TB 7200 64mb cache
    Radeon 5770 of some description
    Hanns G 28" monitor
     


  12. Christobevii3

    Christobevii3 Senior member

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    I'd recommend getting a 5850 since the monitor rez will choke with the 5770 on some more intense games. If you need to, go to Athlon II's and save a smidge on processor and get the better video card. Or if with ram you were planning on 8GB go 4GB now and add the 4GB later, I have yet to notice a difference between 4GB and 8GB myself.
     


  13. AR_Six

    AR_Six "Sookie!"

    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    I was thinking I would go 2x4gb. Can get some dexent g skill 1333 for 215 for 8gb in that config whic seems reasonable for canada.
     


  14. henrikc

    henrikc Senior member

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    Norway
    I'd reconsider the hard drive. Sure, it's large - but what if it fails?
    If this is going to be your main computer, get 2 hard drives, size down if necessary, and use one for a full backup of the other one. No need for raid 1, just get a program that will clone the entire main drive over to the backup drive.

    Other than that, looks like a nice setup. Be careful with the fans though, if you're going to keep it in your bedroom and want to be able to have it running at night, downloading torrents and whatnot, be sure to make it as quiet as possible. The noise from the fans will keep you up all night.
     


  15. AR_Six

    AR_Six "Sookie!"

    Messages:
    10,770
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Here's a question: If I want to get a SSD to boot the OS off of, what size should I be looking at? Is 32 enough or should I step up to 64?
     


Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by