1. And... we're back. You'll notice that all of your images are back as well, as are our beloved emoticons, including the infamous :foo: We have also worked with our server folks and developers to fix the issues that were slowing down the site.

    There is still work to be done - the images in existing sigs are not yet linked, for example, and we are working on a way to get the images to load faster - which will improve the performance of the site, especially on the pages with a ton of images, and we will continue to work diligently on that and keep you updated.

    Cheers,

    Fok on behalf of the entire Styleforum team
    Dismiss Notice

The Desktop PC Building Thread

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by AR_Six, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. skitlets

    skitlets Senior member

    Messages:
    2,310
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Location:
    DC
    I'll just grab one when I go to get my video card. I'm basically waiting on an OS because there's no point in finishing the thing when I can't make it work. Taking forever to get here though, I should've just borrowed the discs from someone.

    Get that sucker up and running, OS or not! Sometimes stuff arrives DOA. I'd rather find out before I was all excited to install my OS than afterwards.
     
  2. Althis

    Althis Senior member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    I got my new parts but I'm having trouble getting my computer to work now. When I turn it on it doesn't recognize anything plugged in and the video doesn't work at all. The monitor doesn't receive any signal and turns off. I've tried using the onboard chip set, my video card, switching the ram, replugging everything and trying it with just the board and CPU to see if it makesany error beeps. Nothing has worked and i dont know what to try
     
  3. m.gway

    m.gway Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    68
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Did you make sure the CPU is seated properly?
    Is everything pushed all the way in (RAM, PCIe cards, etc)?
    Are you providing enough power to the components?
    The monitor shuts off, but does the machine actually turn off or is it still humming along?

    Try booting with bare essentials and work your way up, it could be a faulty part.
     
  4. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    I got my new parts but I'm having trouble getting my computer to work now. When I turn it on it doesn't recognize anything plugged in and the video doesn't work at all. The monitor doesn't receive any signal and turns off. I've tried using the onboard chip set, my video card, switching the ram, replugging everything and trying it with just the board and CPU to see if it makesany error beeps. Nothing has worked and i dont know what to try

    This is odd. Can you get to the bios?

    Have you made sure to plug in all the power connections to the motherboard, HDD, Optical, Graphics Card (5750 has the 6 pin connection)? Are you sure the CPU is seated properly? Are your front panel connections (power, reset, hdd activity led etc) connections in correctly? What mobo did you get and what ram are you using in it? There could be an incompatability as some mobos are picky and some DDR3 chips aren't versatile....

    Worst case is the mobo might be DOA. After trying the above, give the Mobo manufacturer's tech help a call. See if they can guide you a bit.
     
  5. Althis

    Althis Senior member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    I turn on the computer and the monitor just says no signal. I can't get any image at all. I rechecked the CPU and everything and its all seated properly. When I turn on the computer all the fans go on and the less for the network cable and video card. I got the asrock a785gxh. It doesn't recognize the onboard chipset or the 5750 and I tried resetting the cmos but no go. I'm going to try and call their customer support.
     
  6. daft

    daft Senior member

    Messages:
    620
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Take motherboard out of the case with just the bare bones. cpu, gpu, ram and do a little trial & error thing.
     
  7. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    There is a small chance that the BIOS currently in the mobo doesn't support your CPU as it's a newer CPU and the motherboard is a bit older. A BIOS update would fix it, but you probably don't have an older AM2+ CPU to use in order to even update it...

    Second, from a NEWEGG review:

    If you are trying to install an add on GPU in the Primary (GREEN) PCI Express 2.0 X16 slot MAKE SURE TO:

    READ THE MANUAL - It is clear. Select "Primary Video Adaptor" and select PCI Express!

    READ THE MANUAL - this mobo supports graphics off the integrated GPU (iGPU) AND the add on GPU at the same time!!! You have to select "surround view" AND select/allocate Video Memort - DO NOT LEAVE VIDEO MEMORY ON AUTO - CHOOSE 128/256/512, not AUTO.
     
  8. Althis

    Althis Senior member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    I wound up RMAing it, I'm just going to get a newer board and RAM to make sure it works next time
     
  9. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    I wound up RMAing it, I'm just going to get a newer board and RAM to make sure it works next time

    Probably for the best. Reading the reviews for that board didn't exactly leave me feeling that the board is user friendly.
     
  10. Althis

    Althis Senior member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    I should have gone with th newer board and ram in the first place, I guess ill be out another 150bucks or so lol, also I have to use my evo now for all this until I set up my computer again the old way
     
  11. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    I should have gone with th newer board and ram in the first place, I guess ill be out another 150bucks or so lol, also I have to use my evo now for all this until I set up my computer again the old way

    Aren't you getting your money back from the RMA?

    A good AM3/DDR3 board will run you $80 or so, the linked one even less after rebate.

    4gb of DDR3 is just a bit over $80 (Saw a review where someone used this ram with the Asus linked above and it worked fine).

    With the refund that nets to around $115, not too bad for some future proofing.
     
  12. Althis

    Althis Senior member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Yeah they said they'll give me a refund since the board is sold out now anyways. Thanks for the links ill check them out once my computer is back up

    edit: ok it's working now, i ordered the new parts and i'm going to return this board, hopefully it'll work this time.

    edit2: wow newegg's shipping is really erratic, for the original board and cpu it took 5 days coming from new jersey. i ordered the new board and ram 2 hours ago and they already sent me a tracking number and it's coming from industry, CA which is literally 20-30 minutes away from me
     
  13. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Yeah they said they'll give me a refund since the board is sold out now anyways. Thanks for the links ill check them out once my computer is back up

    edit: ok it's working now, i ordered the new parts and i'm going to return this board, hopefully it'll work this time.


    protip: don't send in the UPC for Rebate until you make sure that the new Motherboard works!
     
  14. Althis

    Althis Senior member

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    got the new board and ram and it's running perfectly

    getting 40-50 fps on bfbc2 on high settings
     
  15. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    got the new board and ram and it's running perfectly

    getting 40-50 fps on bfbc2 on high settings


    Good to hear!
     
  16. XenoX101

    XenoX101 Senior member

    Messages:
    4,763
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Hey guys, just wondering if anyone knowledgeable could check this build before I go ahead with it. It's nothing too flash, pretty much just want a slightly high end computer to play games on that will hopefully last me around 3 or so years before it needs an upgrade. CPU: Intel Core i5-760 MB: ASUS P7P55D-LE Intel P55/LGA1156 Sound: Turtle Beach Santa Cruz PSU: Antec TruePower New Series 750W - blue Video: 2x HIS ATI Radeon HD 5750 Ram: G.skill Ripjaws 4GB HD: Seagate Barracuda 500GB Case: Antec Sonata II (using from prev. computer) Thanks!
     
  17. daft

    daft Senior member

    Messages:
    620
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Looks good. I have the same power supply and it is awesome. Any particular reason you're not using the onboard soundcard? You might also want a 1TB harddrive considering how cheap storage is today.
     
  18. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Looks good. I have the same power supply and it is awesome. Any particular reason you're not using the onboard soundcard? You might also want a 1TB harddrive considering how cheap storage is today.

    +1

    Samsung F3 1tb can be had for pretty cheap and apparently is a great performer.

    Onboard sound should be fine, just use that for a while and make a decision on whether or not to get a seperate sound card after.

    Also, that mobo, while having multiple PCI-X 2.0 x16 slots only supports x4 on the second slot if using multiple v-cards for xfire. HUGE performance hit. Just get a single GTX 460 for around $200 after rebates.
     
  19. Ace Rimmer

    Ace Rimmer Senior member

    Messages:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia PA
    Also, that mobo, while having multiple PCI-X 2.0 x16 slots only supports x4 on the second slot if using multiple v-cards for xfire. HUGE performance hit. Just get a single GTX 460 for around $200 after rebates.

    Agree, if XenoX wants to play games "for the next three years" the better option is to spend the cash on a single more powerful video card and then SLI/Crossfire it in two years to keep the system current. Buying two cards now just takes up two PCI-E slots and inhibits further upgrades in the future.

    My favorite bang for the buck video card is currently the Radeon HD5770 but YMMV.
     
  20. XenoX101

    XenoX101 Senior member

    Messages:
    4,763
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Re: onboard sound I have these overly expensive Beyerdynamics and an overly expensive Pico amp that would be bottlenecked by it, so the extra $20 is worth it for me. Thanks for the tip on the hard drive though, looks like I can pay $30 more and get double the storage, sounds good! Oh and thanks for letting me know about the mobo, I see that you're right. But I'd like the option to do SLI or Crossfire in the future, so I might consider the GTX 460 but I will want a different motherboard regardless. What do you recommend for around the same price as the P7P55D? All I would need is 2 PCI-e x8 minimum, 2 PCI-e for future potential TV-tuner & wireless card, and 1 PCI for sound card (a spare PCI would be nice but I'm not fussed) and of course reasonable performance like the P7P55D.
     

Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by