Tailor smoked my jacket!

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by pandionknight, Jan 28, 2011.

1. pandionknight

pandionknight New Member

Hello Everyone. This is my first post here.

I'm relatively new to the sartorial life having gradually improved my wardrobe over the last couple of years. I've learnt a lot reading blogs. Last week I decided to take a corduroy jacket I had bought second hand into a tailor to have the plastic buttons (a couple were missing) replaced with a full set of horn ones. Having researched the cost of a set of horn blazer buttons, I was pleasantly surprised at what I thought was a very reasonable fee.

Today I collected the jacket and whilst pleased with the work done, my wife noticed the strong smell of it when we got home and asked me whether the jacket had smelled of smoke before I took it to the tailor? It never had, we don't smoke and I'd not worn it out anywhere.

It is a small tailor's shop. As far as I know he works alone and I can only assume that he smokes while he works. This has been my first experience with a tailor and I'm not sure how to proceed?

Shane

2. ter1413

ter1413 Senior member

Dry clean it.

3. rioni

rioni Senior member

If he did a good job, who cares. The mild smoke smell will go away after a few wearings.

4. patrickBOOTH

patrickBOOTH Senior member Dubiously Honored

If you have a steamer steam your jacket. Steam removes most odors from wool.

5. Aldehyde

Aldehyde Senior member

Are you sure it didn't smell when you bought it, since you bought it second hand. I can't imagine a tailor smoking while working.

6. ter1413

ter1413 Senior member

Are you sure it didn't smell when you bought it, since you bought it second hand. I can't imagine a tailor smoking while working.

In a small shop? Why not? After he closes and before he opens, he probably lights up a doobie!

7. inlandisland

inlandisland Senior member