• We would like to welcome Ratio Clothing as an official Affiliate Vendor. Ratio Clothing specializes in American-made custom shirts offered at a fair price with guaranteed perfect fit. Please visit their new thread and give them a warm welcome.

• STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Strong Lifts and Bike Riding

BoomDiggs

Reaction score
I am just starting out with the 5x5 program in an effort to get stronger. However, I am also hoping to train for RAGBRI (bike ride across Iowa). That requires progressivly longer bike rides, eventually riding over 100 miles a week.

Are these two goals incompatable? In other words, will my lifting efforts be wasted, or at least dramatically inhibited, if I am also spending so much time on the bike.

velobran

Reaction score
RAGBRI is a very casual long distance ride. Average total length is about 472 miles and around 68 miles/day (from host city to host city). A cycling enthusiast can complete the daily ride in 3 - 4 hours without stopping. More recreational will take 5 - 7 hours with stops for refills and such.

Either way - this isn't a lot of time on the bike if you've been riding descent distances (30 - 40 miles a few times a week). Your back and ass might take most of the beating if you have legs that are in shape.

LawrenceMD

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
all you want is to get stronger right? not bigger?

so if you do a weightlifting program properly you'll get stronger. the only thing the bike ride will do is really burn calories and build cardiovascular base.

both are compatible.

bvbellomo

Reaction score
You can do both, but you need to prioritize.