stranger compliments

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by stevejobs, Jul 8, 2008.

1. stevejobs

stevejobs Senior member

When was the last time a stranger complimented you (men only) on your wardrobe as you were wearing it? Retail salesmen and business clients excluded. Do you even care for compliments?

2. stickonatree

stickonatree Senior member

i'm a new intern at my office, started a month ago. i dress "better" than all my peers, and while i get no actual comments, everyone always eye me up and down whenever they start talking to me. i find it both disturbing and finding myself feeling strangely smug. one of the hotter women at the office, late 30's, did comment on how "cute" my office was, which to me was more of a diss than a compliment, but i think she meant well. [​IMG]

3. lordofpi

lordofpi Senior member

Just the other day, as often happens, I was complimented on my shoes being polished (not on the shoes themselves.). I guess the rest of the world is too busy to bother with such a mundane task? Also, I often get compliments on my hats, but I wouldn't count this too much since a hat is a rarity these days.

I hope I don't get to the point in life where I don't like to be complimented. Besides, it can often be an ice-breaker into meeting new people you otherwise might not have engaged.

4. AlmostSmart

AlmostSmart Senior member

If I notice someone when I'm travelling who I think deserves sartorial praise I will.

Sometimes it can be the suit, sometimes the colour coordination and sometimes even the tie knot that particularly goes well with the shirt collar. Occasionally a guy looks at me without saying anything, probably thinking I'm weird, but most of the time I do get a 'thank you', and it has led to more of an indepth conversation, so much so that one guy does look out for me at the station and travels in with me if we do meet up. [​IMG]

5. Shraka

Shraka Senior member

Yesterday: "You're looking sharp today."