Skiing gear

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by Richard Pryor, Jul 29, 2011.

1. Richard Pryor

Richard Pryor Senior member

I want to look fashionable when I go sky this next winter, and I think this is the best time to shop for sky clothes (summer).

I hear The North Face is a good brand. Any recommendations on what I should buy?

I wanna be the best dressed skier in the mountains this winter!

2. erk

erk Senior member

Do you mean Skyer?

3. Richard Pryor

I guess. English isn't my first language, so excuse my grammar.

4. aj_del

aj_del Senior member

I think he meant skiing. Even I am interested, since I intnd to visit the Alps this winter and maybe learn skiing but have zero suitable clothes for it

5. Unregistered

Unregistered Senior member

6. Richard Pryor

7. Yachting Man

Yachting Man Senior member

One of the best options for ski clothes is Spyder. I've been using their products for about six or seven years now and I'm very happy with my purchases.

8. Fred49

Fred49 Senior member

Spyder is great ski gear. There are a ton of other brands. Get something that will keep you very warm as well as look good. Filson makes a great woolen sweater. It is one of the best I have ever worn. Its not really a ski sweater but you can get it in navy and it has a very nice profile.

9. Pembers

Pembers Senior member

As a qualified ski instructor, can I advise (beg!) you not to buy anything expensive for your first trip. You might hate it after your first day, and in any case there's nothing worse than that guy with £300 reflective-looking goggles (he's usually English, unfortunately); who at the beginning of the week doesn't stop talking about the specifications of his new fischers and the "anti-avalanche technology" of his expensive jacket, then turns out to be a complete spaz.