Site Topics - Part II

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by j, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. j

    j (stands for Jerk) Admin

    Messages:
    14,914
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I don't think I have an imageshack account of any kind. I will look into it.
     
  2. kwilkinson

    kwilkinson Having a Ball

    Messages:
    33,650
    Likes Received:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    Weird, why does it work for me? What do you see there? I guess we can add Imageshack to the list of companies that are attempting to kill themselves off.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. j

    j (stands for Jerk) Admin

    Messages:
    14,914
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Hmm, so I get the same thing when I use IE instead of FF - must have picked up a cookie somehow. Apparently tons of people/sites are having this issue now.

    Anyone know how to write a script that will download all imageshack images and host them on our server, and change all the links in the forum database? Me neither.
     
  4. unjung

    unjung Senior member

    Messages:
    6,544
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    The beach
    I get the same thing. ImageShack is to Imgur what Hotmail is to Gmail... old and tired and trying to hook you in and bait you and fill your email signatures with their spam. Let's dump those douchebags.
     
  5. Stazy

    Stazy Senior member

    Messages:
    7,194
    Likes Received:
    438
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    ..
     
  6. deadly7

    deadly7 Senior member

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    194
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Hmm, so I get the same thing when I use IE instead of FF - must have picked up a cookie somehow. Apparently tons of people/sites are having this issue now.

    Anyone know how to write a script that will download all imageshack images and host them on our server, and change all the links in the forum database? Me neither.


    Your FF probably has cached versions of those images. I think imageshack was hitting major bandwidth issues and is cutting down on big sites.

    Depending on what posts look like in the database it could be trivial, or else it could be extremely complicated. If you PM me a post (as it shows up in the database) that has an imageshack image in it, I could take a look at it.
     
  7. Archivist

    Archivist Senior member

    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Hmm, so I get the same thing when I use IE instead of FF - must have picked up a cookie somehow. Apparently tons of people/sites are having this issue now.

    Anyone know how to write a script that will download all imageshack images and host them on our server, and change all the links in the forum database? Me neither.


    j, if I view an image at imageshack first, then I can then see it here. Your images for example, I went and looked at the big bad wolf, now it loads here, the others do not. So you'll probably see images you upload yourself. You will not see images you personally have not viewed at imageshack.

    I've tried registering for an imageshack account, and being logged in there, it does not help. I've tried fragging any cookies set by imageshack (they set quite a few) and coming in clean, both authenticated at imageshack and not, and that does not help.

    Seems inevitable, I've never understood the business model of hosting images for free. Shame about all the old stuff posted here that is hosted there.
     
  8. Master-Classter

    Master-Classter Senior member

    Messages:
    8,491
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I have a serious and legit complaint to launch here... why is it that NOBODY seems to put the SIZES in the titles of their for sale threads. It's crazy! What's the point of just listing expensive brand names? you gonna stroke your ego with the viewcount? It's a pain in the ass because 90% of the people click just out of interest (any maybe to comment - ie free bump) on stuff that's not even relevant to them. I think this makes for a negative B&S experience and for taht reason I think it should be enforced to some extent that sellers have to post even a general size range in their titles...

    anyone?


    J am I on your ignore list [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. SpooPoker

    SpooPoker Internet Bigtimer and Most Popular Man on Campus Dubiously Honored Affiliate Vendor

    Messages:
    36,013
    Likes Received:
    35,092
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    LuxeSwap
    sizes in B&S

    Just speculation - but my thoughts are that with a limited amount of characters to enter things in a title, and with many sellers listing non-sized items, or multisized items (48,50, 52, 54, etc), It would seem a little more beneficial to list names to entice buyers to click and purchase, rather than eat up those precious characters listing sizes.

    Example : Say Im selling a Kiton suit size 48, Brioni suit size 50, Zegna suit size 52, Edward Green shoes size 8.5/9, 2 Charvet ties, and a Dingman belt size 36 in the same thread. I would much rather include all those brand names to get clicks and increase my ratio of impulse purchases than eat up 13 characters (plus spaces or commas) than omit a name.
     
  10. Rambo

    Rambo Senior member

    Messages:
    27,312
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    I'M IN MIAMI, BITCH
    J am I on your ignore list [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Bump for a great seller! Nothing in my size here but I'm very jealous of whoever ends up with this.
     
  11. Master-Classter

    Master-Classter Senior member

    Messages:
    8,491
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Just speculation - but my thoughts are that with a limited amount of characters to enter things in a title, and with many sellers listing non-sized items, or multisized items (48,50, 52, 54, etc), It would seem a little more beneficial to list names to entice buyers to click and purchase, rather than eat up those precious characters listing sizes.
    Example : Say Im selling a Kiton suit size 48, Brioni suit size 50, Zegna suit size 52, Edward Green shoes size 8.5/9, 2 Charvet ties, and a Dingman belt size 36 in the same thread. I would much rather include all those brand names to get clicks and increase my ratio of impulse purchases than eat up 13 characters (plus spaces or commas) than omit a name.

    I do understand the reason, I just think it's counterproductive for both sides. A huge amount of people who aren't really potential buyers have to click on the thread to find the sizes even if the brand seems mildly interesting, then they're there so they might as well look, and comment... it wastes the buyer's time too since most of the people aren't serious buyers.

    it's as simple as:
    Suits - Kiton (48) Brioni (50), Zegna (52), Edward Green 8.5/9, Charvet ties, & Dingman belt (36)... or so

    Bump for a great seller! Nothing in my size here but I'm very jealous of whoever ends up with this.
    touche
     
  12. SpooPoker

    SpooPoker Internet Bigtimer and Most Popular Man on Campus Dubiously Honored Affiliate Vendor

    Messages:
    36,013
    Likes Received:
    35,092
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    LuxeSwap
    I do understand the reason, I just think it's counterproductive for both sides. A huge amount of people who aren't really potential buyers have to click on the thread to find the sizes even if the brand seems mildly interesting, then they're there so they might as well look, and comment... it wastes the buyer's time too since most of the people aren't serious buyers.

    it's as simple as:
    Suits - Kiton (48) Brioni (50), Zegna (52), Edward Green 8.5/9, Charvet ties, & Dingman belt (36)... or so


    touche


    I can see your point. I myself on the buying side, like the thrill of the surprise. I scroll down reeeeeeal slow until the size pops up. If its not my size, I scroll down. If it is, I scrutinize. I dont haz it, teh life.
     
  13. Redwoood

    Redwoood Senior member

    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    [...]
    Anyone know how to write a script that will download all imageshack images and host them on our server, and change all the links in the forum database? Me neither.


    Writing the script is only half the problem.
    It should be relatively easy to dump all a URLswith imageshack.us and then retrieve those URLs, store/rename the files according to some schema and then alter the URLs in the database according to the same schema. Running such a script basically amounts to a full-text search of the entire database and then an update query on quite a lot of data sets, which could be expensive.
    Also, the problem is that there are tens of thousands of these images on SF, and if imageshack detects you are leeching this many images, they are possibly going to block your IP.
    So you have to distribute the task and slow it down sufficiently for them not to notice.
     
  14. deadly7

    deadly7 Senior member

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    194
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Writing the script is only half the problem.
    It should be relatively easy to dump all a URLswith imageshack.us and then retrieve those URLs, store/rename the files according to some schema and then alter the URLs in the database according to the same schema. Running such a script basically amounts to a full-text search of the entire database and then an update query on quite a lot of data sets, which could be expensive.
    Also, the problem is that there are tens of thousands of these images on SF, and if imageshack detects you are leeching this many images, they are possibly going to block your IP.
    So you have to distribute the task and slow it down sufficiently for them not to notice.


    Another issue I thought of while pondering the idea is that many of those images are now dead -- imageshack or the original uploader pulled them. I don't know how imageshack would deal with thousands of failed HTTP requests.

    My original idea was to use a Perl script to connect to the database, run an SQL query on the posts field and then go every imageshack URL and wget them onto the SF server. As for saving them, I would [hope] vB lays its database out in a useful manner (eg: board, thread, post), which would make the naming/renaming schema easy.
     
  15. dah328

    dah328 Senior member

    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Writing the script is only half the problem.
    It should be relatively easy to dump all a URLswith imageshack.us and then retrieve those URLs, store/rename the files according to some schema and then alter the URLs in the database according to the same schema. Running such a script basically amounts to a full-text search of the entire database and then an update query on quite a lot of data sets, which could be expensive.
    Also, the problem is that there are tens of thousands of these images on SF, and if imageshack detects you are leeching this many images, they are possibly going to block your IP.
    So you have to distribute the task and slow it down sufficiently for them not to notice.

    I don't think that would be so bad if you just ran the script in batches of sufficiently small numbers that it wouldn't attract attention. It would also cut down on the server load if it were not done all at once. And it would be easy to resume the process from a different IP if Imageshack were to notice and block the first IP.
     

Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by