Shirt cuff tightening?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by Beckwith, May 19, 2006.

1. Beckwith

Beckwith Senior member

Received a jantzen that is very close to prefect, but the double button cuffs are a little big. Is this as simple as moving the buttons? Or does this require a bigger job. Maybe it needs a 1/4 to 1/2 inch.

2. Jill

Jill Senior member

There are several expert shirtmakers and tailors here, who can offer professional advice. But as a layman, I would definitely just move the button(s). Especially for 1/4". AT 1/2", you're starting to throw off the alignment of the sleeve placket. But considering the price of a Jantzen shirt, it would hardly be worth having a cuff re-constructed, IMO.

3. DandySF

DandySF Senior member

Try moving the buttons to take up the slack in the cuff. I have to do this with virtually every shirt I buy. Of course if you have to move them too far you'll end up with a sleeve placket that's askew.

4. AlanC

AlanC Minister of Trad

Yes, you can tighten up the buttons to a degree. I do this, too, as I have overly slim wrists. If only my gut was as skinny as my wrists! [​IMG]

5. pengesq

pengesq Well-Known Member

I usually have a tailor move the cuff buttons inside by 1/2 inch to make the cuffs tighter.

6. Charley

Charley Senior member

I usually have a tailor move the cuff buttons inside by 1/2 inch to make the cuffs tighter.

It is very aggrivating to have to move butons on double button cuffs to get a proper tight fit. And, YES, it can through off the placket alignment. a change of 1/2" is borderline too much, IMO. If I got a very good deal on a RTW shirt, OK. On a MTM, I would have the cuffs / sleeves redone.

7. teddieriley

teddieriley Senior member