semi-upscale casual for an older professional

Discussion in 'Menswear Advice' started by drblind, Apr 23, 2016.

1. drblind

drblind New Member

Regards to all.

I am a mid-60s engineering professor at a large southwestern university. I have become interested in upgrading my appearance, and while I can't do much about the ravages of age, I hope that I can offset that a bit by doing something about what I wear. I recently found this forum because I had bought a new suit and I was looking for tie/shirt/suit information (the suit is a Corneliani, up and away the nicest thing I have ever had; more about that in another post).

Among other things, I teach the capstone course for graduating seniors. As part of that course, I ask the students to do presentations in business formal attire. I also dress business formal for the presentations. Bottom line is that, with few exceptions, I didn't think the students had a very good sense of style, fit, or quality. Ok, we are engineers, we usually dont think much about that, but maybe we should. I also want to see in students of all classifications, a sense professionalism, and I think appearance as an important element of that. In either case I think I could do a better job of setting the tone/being an example.

I see a lot of information on the web for casual dress, but it seems mostly for the 20-30s guy. I don't think a lot of it appropriate for me. Few things looks worse than an older guy trying to look two generations younger (except, possibly, an older woman trying to look two generations younger)