Seersucker Double Vented Suit

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by archibaldleach, Jan 28, 2013.

1. archibaldleach

archibaldleach Senior member

Hi All,

I've been mulling over buying a seersucker suit for a couple of years and have finally decided I'd like to buy one. The only problem is most of the seersucker I see comes with single vented jackets. Nothing against these on other people but I just don't think single vents look good on me. Are there double vented seersucker makes that won't break the bank or will I have much better luck if I'm able to get over this hatred of single vents? I am sure I could get Joe Hemrajani to make me something if I was willing to spend more but I don't want to pay more than $400-$500 for something of this sort. Seersucker just seems somewhat disposable and it feels wrong to pay a significant sum for this. Maybe when I have 20 suits and every odd jacket I'd ever want but not right now.

If it helps, I'm around a 39-Short jacket size and 32 waist.

Thanks all,

2. Holdfast

Holdfast Senior member

Good luck with your search (consider this post a bump to get more views/advice!)

What I would say is that while I almost universally prefer double-vented jackets (up to & including for dinner jackets, despite many people's preference for unvented there), I would still not want double-vented seersucker. It just seems so very contrary to the essential nature of the beast.

But as I started off by saying, good luck with your search & I hope someone has some leads for you to chase, if you really want this variant.

3. bourbonbasted

bourbonbasted Cyber Eliitist

Easiest way to find a double vented seersucker suit is to look at double-breasted options. Though I will caution that DB seersucker is pretty rare.

You are correct to not have something made up in cotton.

4. Master Shake

Master Shake Senior member