1. And... we're back. You'll notice that all of your images are back as well, as are our beloved emoticons, including the infamous :foo: We have also worked with our server folks and developers to fix the issues that were slowing down the site.

There is still work to be done - the images in existing sigs are not yet linked, for example, and we are working on a way to get the images to load faster - which will improve the performance of the site, especially on the pages with a ton of images, and we will continue to work diligently on that and keep you updated.

Cheers,

Fok on behalf of the entire Styleforum team
    Dismiss Notice

Seeking advice re Boots for smart casual wear- Style newbie

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by Sunster, Nov 13, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Sunster

Sunster Member

Hi, I'm a style newbie who has often been directed to this forum when loking at stylish clothing products.
    I'm Chinese and of medium build, and doctor by trade. My general style over the years has been that casual street wear t-shirts/shirts, jeans and trainers. I've a wealth of black casual jackets. For the last few years my staple boot when not wearing trainers has been my Timberland boot company chukka in vintage worn black colour.
    As I'm approaching that magic 40 years mark I've become more concious of dressing in a 'smart casually'. Over the past year I've been buying more fitted shirts, John Smedley v-neck/crew neck knits, and darker jeans. I've also recently invested a Nanamica Field jacket/blazer (again in black). Very occasionally I may wear a fitted dark blue or black chino trousers.
    I am now considering investing in a solid boot to complete my smart casual (stylish mature) look. I'd love some advice on a smart boot which may compliment my clothes and around the £250 budget and with rubber sole. Personally I think a detailed chunky boot would be best, and I'm think a non shiney black or dark brown.