Question on Anti-Virus Software

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Eustace Tilley, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. Eustace Tilley

    Eustace Tilley Senior member

    Messages:
    6,452
    Likes Received:
    305
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    I just bought a new laptop and can get Symantec's Endpoint Protection for free via my company. However, from what I've read, this is a product that's meant mainly for small businesses. Given that this is a home computer, would I be better off buying an ESET, BitDefender etc. type of product instead?

    Thanks - ET
     
  2. pseudonym

    pseudonym Senior member

    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    I find it strange how people pay absurd amounts ($80/year) for virus protection.

    avast! and avira are both free alternatives and dare I say, work better than McAfee/Norton.

    I'm currently using the best combo on my home computer: avast! Home edition + Malwarebytes.


    I have not gotten a virus in 2 years. If you want extra protection, download the NoScript add-on in Mozilla Firefox.


    PS - Update at least once a week. Run a scan every couple of weeks.
     
  3. Jumbie

    Jumbie Senior member

    Messages:
    4,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Microsoft Security Essentials gets excellent reviews and is completely free.
     
  4. Eustace Tilley

    Eustace Tilley Senior member

    Messages:
    6,452
    Likes Received:
    305
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    My question revolves around whether a product like Symantec Endpoint Protection would be overkill for a home computer, and use too much of my CPU. Would it?

    According to all reviews, Symantec Endpoint Protection is meaningfully superior to programs like Avast, and its is free for me.
     
  5. lbcgav

    lbcgav Senior member

    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    My question revolves around whether a product like Symantec Endpoint Protection would be overkill for a home computer, and use too much of my CPU. Would it?

    According to all reviews, Symantec Endpoint Protection is meaningfully superior to programs like Avast, and its is free for me.


    I would not recommend anyone use Endpoint Protection. We removed it from our server and replaced it with Kaspersky and saw instant improvement in performance. SEP just uses too many resources.
     
  6. Eustace Tilley

    Eustace Tilley Senior member

    Messages:
    6,452
    Likes Received:
    305
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    I would not recommend anyone use Endpoint Protection. We removed it from our server and replaced it with Kaspersky and saw instant improvement in performance. SEP just uses too many resources.

    Thanks - that is helpful.
     
  7. pseudonym

    pseudonym Senior member

    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    I've had some experiences with Symantec myself, and would advise everyone against using it, let alone thinking of installing it.
     
  8. coltboy75

    coltboy75 Senior member

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    try www.pctools.com

    I love it and use it one three computers. Great customer service.
     
  9. vortex89

    vortex89 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    I also recommend Avast or AVG, preferably Avast!

    Its free, it updates everyday at least! and highly configurable

    Not had a virus since its been installed and I visit some dubious websites
     
  10. sho'nuff

    sho'nuff grrrrrrrr!!

    Messages:
    22,225
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine
    I just bought a new laptop and can get Symantec's Endpoint Protection for free via my company. However, from what I've read, this is a product that's meant mainly for small businesses. Given that this is a home computer, would I be better off buying an ESET, BitDefender etc. type of product instead?

    Thanks - ET


    symantec sucks it does absolutely sh*t for our company. i dont know if it is the product itself, or if our company didnt implement it well enterprise-wise, but we still go around doing desk jobs with hirens and malawarebytes. [​IMG]
     
  11. Dmax

    Dmax Senior member

    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    People's Republic of the Five Boroughs
    I administer Symantec Endpoint Protection on a few hundred workstations. It's fine for a home PC and does not consume a lot of CPU or RAM. There are several modules you can install. I would start with just Anti-Virus/Anti-Spyware module and don't initially install the Network Threat Protection or the Proactive Threat Protection.
    Since it's free for you I would try it out. You can always uninstall later and try something else.

    Unfortunately, Symantec or any other single antivirus program may not stop some of the newer, more sophisticated threats but that's a separate post.
     
  12. sho'nuff

    sho'nuff grrrrrrrr!!

    Messages:
    22,225
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine
    yeah i guess it's fine for home but the enterprise one we use sucks . it literally sucks /drains the pcs here of their performance
     
  13. Cary Grant

    Cary Grant Senior member

    Messages:
    9,673
    Likes Received:
    406
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Location:
    Knee deep in curds
    Kaspersky!
     
  14. Prince

    Prince Senior member

    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I also recommend Avast or AVG, preferably Avast!

    Its free, it updates everyday at least! and highly configurable

    Not had a virus since its been installed and I visit some dubious websites


    Same here. Avast is pretty decent imo although the updating does take some time.
     
  15. Dmax

    Dmax Senior member

    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    People's Republic of the Five Boroughs
    yeah i guess it's fine for home but the enterprise one we use sucks . it literally sucks /drains the pcs here of their performance
    I meant it's not overkill for home use and it's fine for enterprise use as well, including production servers. In my experience, it does not put a big drain on resource though it depends how you have it configured (number of in-house servers, how the nodes communicate with the servers, frequency and timing of scans, etc.) though of course your experience may differ.
     

Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by