Putting Off The Married Life

Discussion in 'Social Life, Food & Drink, Travel' started by SoleBajan, May 12, 2009.

1. SoleBajan

SoleBajan Active Member

Between Barbados and Martinique (France).
    Long but thought-provoking read grâce à Facebook. What do you think?

2. FLMountainMan

FLMountainMan White Hispanic

I'm 32 and still single (well, I have a girlfriend, but I'm not married). I would like to settle down at some point, but when I can date a series of hot women in their mid-twenties, have all the sex I want but still have my own place and my own space, and focus on my career, it's really hard to give that up. I mean really, there is no incentive other than to pass along my bloodline.

When you're single, you're only living for yourself. There's great material benefit to that, but I believe a long-term deletrious spiritual and emotional detriment.

I know that long-term, I should really grow up, but I've been saying that for about ten years now.

3. MetroStyles

MetroStyles Senior member

Only reason I would get married is to start a family. Otherwise if I found someone great we could just be in a long-term relationship until we decided not to.

I agree with FLMM in that living alone for too long isn't healthy, but marriage is not the only way to solve that. Besides, what does marriage bring to the table for a man, exactly? I can see it being a security deposit for the family that the man won't up and leave on a whim. But again, where is the benefit for the man himself?

4. Milhouse

Milhouse Senior member

I think the ledger thing is a good analogy for the analysis that I go through. As has happened with all the girls in my past, one day, the bad things add up to a higher sum than good things and I say "no more". This has always left them shocked and confused. They always flip out and can't understand how I could "break up" with them so "suddenly". I don't think women realize the cumulative effect of their behavior.

5. MetroStyles