1. And... we're back. You'll notice that all of your images are back as well, as are our beloved emoticons, including the infamous :foo: We have also worked with our server folks and developers to fix the issues that were slowing down the site.

There is still work to be done - the images in existing sigs are not yet linked, for example, and we are working on a way to get the images to load faster - which will improve the performance of the site, especially on the pages with a ton of images, and we will continue to work diligently on that and keep you updated.

Cheers,

Fok on behalf of the entire Styleforum team
    Dismiss Notice

Presenting at a scientific conference

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by temperest, Jun 5, 2012.

Tags:
  1. temperest

temperest New Member

I'm an undergrad presenting at a big international scientific conference in a month or so (around 1000+ attendees) and I'm trying to figure out what to wear - should I just go with a jacket/shirt/slacks/tie or should I go all out and buy a new suit? I'm giving a 15 minute talk in one of the 18 or so rooms. I'm presenting on the first day so no time to scope out what others will be wearing. I'm probably going business casual for the remainder of the conference.

Last edited: Jun 5, 2012
  2. Gibonius

Gibonius Senior member

This varies a bit from conference to conference and field by field, but:

In general, few people will be wearing ties. Fewer will be wearing suits. It's usually just the plenary lecturer types, the main events. You'll be fine with jacket and slacks, even khakis. A lot of people attending but not presenting likely will just have a buttonup and pants, even just a polo shirt.

You can always wear a tie if you want, won't take anything away from you. A suit is probably too much.

3. Saturdays

Saturdays Senior member

According to the last conference I attended you should make sure nothing you wear fits.