Poll: pro cooks - do you sharpen your own knives?

Discussion in 'Social Life, Food & Drink, Travel' started by Thomas, Sep 5, 2008.

1. Thomas

Thomas Senior member

I've rather foolishly committed myself to giving a speech next week and was curious as to whether the trend for professional or committed amateur chefs/cooks was to sharpen their own knives or send them out. Hence the poll.

2. lakewolf

lakewolf Senior member

Where is the Anne Hattaway option on the poll ?

3. spence

spence Senior member

Not sure there's such a thing as an amateur chef [​IMG]

But I'm a hardcore home cook and I always do my own. I used to use a stone but now just a decent electric sharpener.

-spence

4. Thomas

Thomas Senior member

Where is the Anne Hattaway option on the poll ?

I came this close to putting Anne Hathaway as an option but chickened out. [​IMG]

5. Dragon

Dragon Senior member

I voted on behalf of my wife, but she usually sharpens all her knives herself. The only time she hands them to a professional sharpener is when there is a problem with the knife that can`t be fixed on her own (like a big chip).

6. Manton

Manton RINO Dubiously Honored

What's the connection between the speech and knife sharpening?

For my Henkels, I use an electric sharpener. I find I don't need to very often. The steel keeps them plenty sharp most of the time.

I have two Shun Elites, both more than a year old, that have not yet needed to be sharpened. When they do, I will send them back to Shun.

7. otc

otc Senior member

8. Renault78law

Renault78law Senior member

hone, do myself. sharpen, send out.

9. Thomas

Thomas Senior member

What's the connection between the speech and knife sharpening?

For my Henkels, I use an electric sharpener. I find I don't need to very often. The steel keeps them plenty sharp most of the time.

I have two Shun Elites, both more than a year old, that have not yet needed to be sharpened. When they do, I will send them back to Shun.