Pocket squares: when to wear them and when not

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by newsuit, Oct 21, 2004.

1. newsuit

newsuit Member

I am new to this, so pardon my ignorance. When, generally speaking, do you wear the pocket square? For business? For special occasions?

Thanks.

2. A Harris

A Harris Senior member Dubiously Honored

IMO, whenever you are wearing a jacket with a breast pocket. An empty breast pocket looks superfluous, at least it does to me.

3. Kai

Kai Senior member

I wear them any time I am wearing a jacket, unless the jacket has a patch pocket (but that's just my personal preference, pocket squares can certainly be worn with patch pockets.)

4. kidkim2

kidkim2 Senior member

5. Leo Jay

Leo Jay Senior member

Wearing one is never inappropriate. Neither are they ever absolutely necessary, though a suit or formal wear almost always looks dressier with one. At the same time it might seem odd to some to wear one when pairing a sportcoat with jeans or casual chinos. But it's all in how you carry it off -- it's a matter of personal style.

6. globetrotter

globetrotter Senior member

I carry an actual handkerchief in that pocket, along with glasses and the occasional cigar. I will usually keep 2 identical white handkerchiefs, one older in my trouser pocket, one virgin in my breast pocket. should the need arise for a second handkerchief (actually only about 3 times in my life) for instance to give one to a person in need, I use the new one.

Frankly, it makes me feel a little less of a dandy to have a crisp white cotton pocket square, and one that can be functional, rather than a colored silk one.

7. Leo Jay

Leo Jay Senior member

Just curious: does anyone here ever wear their white linen pocket squares points up? Or do you usually wear them folded square?

8. globetrotter

globetrotter Senior member

points up

9. PHV

PHV Senior member