Please critique my first bespoke suit

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by MrInvariant, Oct 10, 2010.

1. MrInvariant

MrInvariant Senior member

Hello, This is my first attempt at bespoke suiting...
    • The suit was made with a single basted fitting.
    • The fabric is VBC Super 110s.
    • Cost was around 1350 USD.
    • Right shoulder has some slight padding, left shoulder has just a very thin layer.
    I would appreciate some input on:
    • how to instruct my tailor for the next time,
    • armhole (I asked for smaller armhole, do you think I should ask for even smaller? My goal is to get more freedom in movement. Should I change the way the sleeves are attached? ("Shirt sleeves", etc.))
    • other details, e.g. button stance, george height, etc.
    What I already know is that the angle of the shoulders is not quite right, which causes some bulging in a few places. Unfortunately this is not something that could be fixed at this point. I intend to have the waist taken in slightly for more suppression. Thank you in advance to everyone. Update 2010/10/16: It turns out that there was some misunderstanding (probably something was lost in translation since I'm not native Japanese), and the suit was not considered finished when I took the photos. So the photos are not representative of the final product. The suit is being altered now, and I will upload new photos when it's ready.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Frihed89

Frihed89 Senior member

Critique my wife? No way.

Is it comfy?

3. Maccimus

Maccimus Senior member

open the quarter next time

4. MrInvariant

Thank you for the comments, and looking forward to hearing more.

@Maccimus: good call on the quarters, I will opt for more open quarters next time. [​IMG]

I just realized that I forgot to include the compulsory 'learning to fly' action shots!! So here they are:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

5. iheartangels

iheartangels Senior member

6. MrInvariant