• STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

pants tapering job

dpier

Reaction score
Newbie here. I had some pleated suit pants tapered, and would like comments from your practiced eyes. I have some strong concerns about how they look, but I would love first to hear what you are able to spot without cuing from me. This was a thrifted suit, so if these were botched (or were never worthy in the first place), no big deal. It's a learning experience for me. Thank you. And sorry in advance if there are protocols for posting I have failed to observe.

front view
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gwdze60hpk9icvi/20180607_114845.jpg?dl=0

back view
https://www.dropbox.com/s/n4jtw0v6cq4je9q/20180607_114917.jpg?dl=0

breakaway01

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
hard to say for sure from the picture but looks like the crease does not hang straight. Were they tapered from the outseam only? Ideally the same amount of material should be taken in from the inseam and the outseam.

dpier

Reaction score
hard to say for sure from the picture but looks like the crease does not hang straight. Were they tapered from the outseam only? Ideally the same amount of material should be taken in from the inseam and the outseam.
Yes, they were! Wish I had remembered to specify to not do that. But maybe what I really need is a tailor who can make these decisions without my input. Is there any way to get this fixed, now that it has been done?

breakaway01

Distinguished Member
Reaction score