Not-sexy men's underwear

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by emsny, Aug 2, 2004.

1. emsny

emsny Member

Have any members worn Zimmerli briefs? Are they notably better than the Hanes I've been wearing since 1960?

2. faustian bargain

faustian bargain Senior member

OMG please tell me you've changed your underwear since 1960... [​IMG] although, i have some that LOOK like i've worn them for 40 years...

3. emsny

emsny Member

Now you've scared me, faustian bargain. Let me do a quick inventory.

No, you're right. Most of what's in the drawer appears to date from no more than a dozen or so years ago. Fresh as a daisy, all of it.

4. Will

Will Senior member Dubiously Honored

Shirtmaker Alex Kabbax says he's worn non-Zimmerli underwear two days of his life. In each case it was to try and reject another brand.

It's only a slight exaggeration to describe the difference as between sea island cotton shirts and cardboard.

Will

5. AlanC

AlanC Minister of Trad

I've wondered how our own Shirtmaven's boxers are. My usual complaint with boxers is their cut rather than their cloth. I prefer a no button fly that still will not gap, which requires a wider cut fly than many do. The two I've found that I like the best are Polo and Banana Republic. I used to like Brooks, but their fly is really too narrow. I've never tried Zimmerli, but wouldn't at all mind to.

6. kabert

kabert Senior member

Nordstroms makes, far and away, the best boxers I've every worn. Maybe not the silkiest cotton perhaps (compared to Charvet, for example), but definitely the best fit. I've tried Brooks Brothers, Charvet, Hilditch & Key, Hanro and others. Nordstroms beats them all. Can't say I've tried Zimmerli though.

7. Shirtmaven

Shirtmaven Senior member Dubiously Honored

Alan C
    To answer your question. My boxers are made in a factory near the Jersey shore. This factory bought the machinery and patterns from Delpark. Delpark made boxers for Brooks for many years.