New pair of boots for field work

Discussion in 'Streetwear and Denim' started by afaludi, Jun 12, 2008.

1. afaludi

afaludi Senior member

So I just got appointed to a position that requires a good amount of field work and I need a new pair of boots. I was leaning to the redwing gt but was wondering if it was solid enough to handle serious woods work or was the sole/leather/style more for the streets? many thanks

2. chiral

chiral Senior member

On a more serious note, I think the red wings are pretty tough, but I have no personal experience with them as they don't make them in a large enough size for me. I can really recommend the LL bean katahdin boots, though. http://www.llbean.com/webapp/wcs/sto...502771-tn&np=Y I use them for serious field work (Im a geochemist), and they've stood up really well. Nice construction, goodyear welted with vibram soles, water resistant, etc. Fairly inexpensive, as well.

3. Jokerman

Jokerman Senior member

Honestly if your doing a job thats going to really get your boots messed up you dont want to spend a fortune. I went to sears and bought a pair of Dickies for $75. They are really comfortable and dont look to bad.

4. ahjota

ahjota Senior member

I was not expecting to see a rickroll here.

5. fiftyfour

fiftyfour Well-Known Member

I have been through a few pairs of Rocky Boots in the last 15 years and always found them to be tough, comfortable, and reasonably priced.

6. erdawe

erdawe Senior member

As nice as the GT's are, I'd steer you toward Red Wing, Frye, Chippewa, ect. more work line that are lined with goretex or the like. Something with a steel toe and shank, and waterproofing from the factory. These can be had from discount places for prices under $100.

I think of GT's as somewhat of a lux workboot in comparison to the modern additions to the workboot are made availible today. Both have their places IMO.

7. blackgrass

blackgrass Senior member