Made In My Country

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by TimH, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. TimH

    TimH Senior member

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    This 'Made in my Country' thread will help all of us to identify which brands can be sourced from makers in our own country and get good manufacturers recognised for their efforts.
    Having watched a great Channel 4 programme about a northern factory here in the UK really trying to deliver top notch English Made product, I realised how tired I've become of seeing lots of labels going from good to less than average as they move their manufacturing further and further towards the far east with the resulting loss of skills and fatter wallets for the managing accountants.
    Come on SF - name your home grown manufacturer who still cares about the product and the heritage!!
     
  2. NH_Clark

    NH_Clark Senior member

    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I'd have to say Alden .. they seem to be ok with having their operations here in the US and continue to delver quality shoes
     
  3. BlueHorseShoe

    BlueHorseShoe Senior member

    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    I'd have to say Alden .. they seem to be ok with having their operations here in the US and continue to delver quality shoes

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Harold falcon

    Harold falcon Senior member

    Messages:
    27,426
    Likes Received:
    7,602
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Location:
    NE PA
    [​IMG]

    I don't know why this deserves an unhappy face. Alden still makes in the US and makes great shoes.
     
  5. thebunk

    thebunk Senior member

    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Can we make this thread into a first world kind of thread, meaning not to just focus on US and UK but also Canada? I too am interested in supporting well made clothing made by craftspeople, but specifically interested to know who does what here. I know Naked & Famous and Wings & Horns lines are designed here but I do not believe they produced here (I could be wrong). Any other suggestions?
     
  6. BlueHorseShoe

    BlueHorseShoe Senior member

    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    I don't know why this deserves an unhappy face. Alden still makes in the US and makes great shoes.

    1/2 agree. I think their QC sucks. The (gasp) Gucci shoes I own are better finished than my #8 LW's. How many posts have their been recently talking about the spotty quality of Alden?

    Honestly, I think AE would be a better representative.
     
  7. fcuknu

    fcuknu Senior member

    Messages:
    4,487
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    Can we make this thread into a first world kind of thread, meaning not to just focus on US and UK but also Canada? I too am interested in supporting well made clothing made by craftspeople, but specifically interested to know who does what here. I know Naked & Famous and Wings & Horns lines are designed here but I do not believe they produced here (I could be wrong). Any other suggestions?

    Samuelson suits are solid. Very well made, usually priced well.
     
  8. thebunk

    thebunk Senior member

    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Is this true? I thought they were fused? Are they made in the US or Canada?
     
  9. noob in 89

    noob in 89 Senior member

    Messages:
    7,730
    Likes Received:
    7,568
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    In the US, we've also got Woolrich and Pendleton woolen mills -- excellent quality -- and Hickey Freeman, which I love, even though I'm a newcomer to suits.
     
  10. BlueHorseShoe

    BlueHorseShoe Senior member

    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    HF has a lot of stuff made in Canada.

    Is Filson all USA?
     
  11. BBC

    BBC Senior member

    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Here's a list of some Made in USA clothing and accessories that I put together a while back for the Trad Forum on AAAC - obviously, it's an incomplete list, but a good start.

    Belts and Other Leather Articles
    Colonial Littleton (http://www.colonellittleton.com/)
    Corter Leather (vachetta leather belt)(http://corterleather.bigcartel.com/product/regular-belt)
    Edgar Leather (http://www.edgarleather.com/)
    J. W. Hulme (http://www.jwhulmeco.com/)
    Leatherman Ltd (http://leathermanltd.com/)
    Moonshine (for collegiate d-ring and web belts) (http://www.moonshineusa.com/)
    Narragansett Leathers (http://www.narragansettleathers.com/)
    Preston Ribbons (http://prestonribbons.com/)
    Sole Survivor Leather (http://www.solesu.com/), particularly the Bison belt
    Tanner Goods (utility bifold and belts) (http://www.tannergoods.com/)
    Wiley Belts (http://wileybelts.com/)
    Zep-Pro (http://www.zeppro.com/)

    Shoes
    Alden (http://www.aldenshop.com/)
    Allen Edmonds (http://www.allenedmonds.com/)
    Johnston & Murphy - Aristocraft line/Custom Select line (http://www.johnstonmurphy.com/)
    SAS - San Antonio Shoes (http://www.sasshoes.com/index.php)

    Moccasins
    Arrow (http://www.arrowmoc.com/)
    Quoddy (http://www.quoddy.com/)
    Russell Moccasin Co. (http://www.russellmoccasin.com/index.html)
    Town View Leather (http://www.townviewleather.com/)
    Yuketen (http://www.yuketen.com/)

    Sport Coats, Suiting, Shirts
    Anderson Little (http://www.andersonlittle.com/)
    Brooks Brothers - some suits, ties, and shirts (www.brooksbrothers.com/)
    H. Oritsky (owned by Hartmarx, don't think the label still exists) (http://www.horitskyco.com/)
    Hamilton Custom Shirtmaker - their 1883 RTW line (http://hamilton1883.com/)
    Hardwick (http://www.menssuitseparates.com/index.html)
    Hartmarx/Hart Schaffner Marx (http://www.hartschaffnermarx.com/mensstore/)
    Hickey Freeman (http://www.hickeyfreeman.com/)
    Individualized Apparel Group (http://www.individualizedapparel.com/)
    1. English-American (http://www.englishamericanco.com/)
    2. H. Freeman (http://www.hfreemanco.com/)
    3. Oxxford (http://www.oxxfordclothes.com/)
    4. Gitman Bros. (http://www.gitman.com/)
    5. Corbin (some made in USA, some in Chile)(http://www.corbintrousers.com/)
    5a. Asher-Winer (owned by Corbin?) (many made in USA) (apparently no independent website address)
    J. Press (some made in USA) (http://www.jpressonline.com/)
    Joseph Abboud (http://www.josephabboud.com/)
    Judson Wade (no apparent web presence) - the "company" represents a collaborative effort on the part of independent retailers to modify existing designs and then rebrand them. Seems mostly USA-based manufacturing.
    Kenneth Gordon (http://www.kennethgordonco.com/default.asp)
    Martin Greenfield (http://www.greenfieldclothiers.com/)
    Mercer & Sons (http://www.mercerandsons.com/)
    Nick Hilton (some, I think, made in USA)(http://nickhilton.com/)
    Skip Gambert & Associates (http://www.skipgambert.com/sga/index.html)
    Southwick (owned by BB) (http://www.southwickclothing.com/cgi-local/content.cgi)
    Todd Shelton (http://toddshelton.com/)
    Winston Tailors (no unique web address, 11 East 44th Street, NY - see Chipp2 in neckwear)


    Sportswear, Casual Clothing
    Columbiaknit (http://www.usa-wear.com/)
    Diamond Gusset Jeans (http://gussetclothing.com/)
    Pointer Brand (http://www.pointerbrand.com/)
    Reyns (http://www.reyns.com/)

    Trousers
    Berle, including Charleston Khakis (http://www.berle.com/index.php) (most are made in USA, but not all)
    Bills Khakis (http://www.billskhakis.com/)
    Hertling (no apparent web presence) - seems they're distinguished by an 8th belt loop on the waistband.

    Woolens and Coats
    Bemidji Woolen Mills (http://www.bemidjiwoolenmills.com/)
    Filson (http://www.filson.com/)
    Johnson Woolen Mills (http://www.johnsonwoolenmills.com/)
    Pendleton (http://www.pendleton-usa.com/) (fabric woven in USA, clothing assembled in Mexico)
    Schott (www.schottnyc.com/)
    Sterlingwear of Boston (http://www.sterlingwear.com/cart/)
    Stormy Kromer (http://www.stormykromer.com/)
    Woolrich Woolen Mills (http://www.woolrichwoolenmills.com/)

    Hosiery
    Cabot Hosiery Mills/Cabot & Sons/Darn Tough (http://www.darntough.com/index.html)
    Crescent Hosiery (http://www.crescenthosiery.com/)
    Fox River Mills (red heel socks/sock monkeys) (http://www.foxsox.com/)
    Smartwool Socks (some are made in USA) (https://www.smartwool.com/)
    Wigwam (some in USA) (http://www.wigwam.com/)

    Neckwear and Pocket Squares
    Alexander Olch (http://www.olch.com/)
    Beau Ties Ltd (http://www.beautiesltd.com/)
    Bow Tie Club (http://www.bowtieclub.com/)
    Carrot and Gibbs (http://www.greatbows.com/)
    Chipp2 (http://www.chipp2.com/)
    Cordial Churchman (http://thecordialchurchman.bigcartel.com/)
    David Hart & Co. (http://www.davidhartnyc.com/)
    Kent Wang (https://www.kentwang.com/)
    Lee Allison (www.leeallison.com/)
    Maine Bows (http://www.mainebows.com/)
    Mountain and Sackett (http://www.mountainandsackett.com/)
    R Hanauer (http://www.bowties.com/)
    Robert Talbott (http://www.roberttalbott.com/)
    Sam Hober (http://www.samhober.com/)*
    Vineyard Vines (http://www.vineyardvines.com/)

    Accessories
    AO Eyewear (http://www.aoeyewear.com/)
    Bailey Hats (http://www.baileyhats.com)
    Geier Glove (www.geierglove.com) - a bit rustic, but some good models.
    Grosgrain ribbon watch straps (through O'Connells)(http://shop.oconnellsclothing.com/watchbands.php)**
    Pajamas, boxers, t-shirts (through O'Connells)(http://shop.oconnellsclothing.com/sl..._underwear.php)
    Shuron (eyewear) (www.shuron.com)
    Stetson Hats (http://www.stetsonhat.com/)
    Trafalgar (some braces made in USA) (http://www.trafalgarstore.com/)
    Vintager Straps (handmade leather watch straps) (http://www.vintagerstraps.com/)

    Swimwear
    Birdwell Beach Britches (https://www.birdwellbeachbritches.com/)

    Luggage, Briefcases, Leather Cases
    Custom Hide (http://www.customhide.com/)
    Duluth Pack (http://duluthpack.com/)
    Filson (www.filson.com)
    Gfeller Casemakers (http://www.gfellercasemakers.com/)
    Ghurka (some in US)(http://www.ghurka.com/)
    Port Canvas (http://www.portcanvas.com/)
    Red Oxx (http://www.redoxx.com/)
    Tom Bihn (http://www.tombihn.com/)

    Work Boots
    Carolina Footwear (www.carolinashoe.com/)
    Chippewa Boots (http://www.chippewaboots.com/)
    Danner (http://www.danner.com/)
    Gokey through Orvis (http://www.orvis.com/gokey-boots.html)
    Justin Boots (http://www.justinboots.com/)
    Red Wing (only a small number made in USA, but they're the trad ones) (http://www.redwingshoes.com/)
    Wolverine Boots and Shoes (a few, but especially the 1,000 Mile Boot) (http://www.wolverine.com/US/Main.aspx)
    White's Boots (http://www.whitesboots.com/)
     
  12. Master-Classter

    Master-Classter Senior member

    Messages:
    8,491
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    ^^^ Wow, beauty! That sort of assembly of info just speaks to me! Great job!
     
  13. thebunk

    thebunk Senior member

    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Agreed, great list!
     
  14. anginaprinzmetal

    anginaprinzmetal Senior member

    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    95
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    west of the strip ...
    That list is just awesome!!![​IMG]
     
  15. TimH

    TimH Senior member

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Can we make this thread into a first world kind of thread, meaning not to just focus on US and UK but also Canada? I too am interested in supporting well made clothing made by craftspeople, but specifically interested to know who does what here. I know Naked & Famous and Wings & Horns lines are designed here but I do not believe they produced here (I could be wrong). Any other suggestions?

    Exactly, let's get it global and then not only do the makers and customers in each individual country get to know each other, but it could possibly help their local economies in a small way, reduce global transport etc.
    Great to see such a response so far with some excellent listings.
    Best to all, Tim Hardy
     

Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by