1. And... we're back. You'll notice that all of your images are back as well, as are our beloved emoticons, including the infamous :foo: We have also worked with our server folks and developers to fix the issues that were slowing down the site.

    There is still work to be done - the images in existing sigs are not yet linked, for example, and we are working on a way to get the images to load faster - which will improve the performance of the site, especially on the pages with a ton of images, and we will continue to work diligently on that and keep you updated.

    Cheers,

    Fok on behalf of the entire Styleforum team
    Dismiss Notice

Macophants - The new Macbook Air: you getting one?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Rambo, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    I wasn't saying it was slow. I was just commenting on the stupidity of that particular benchmark. Plus, almost anything with an SSD and flash memory will be lightning quick at opening programs.

    Ding ding.
     
  2. Brosef

    Brosef Senior member

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
  3. osgood

    osgood Member

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Location:
    Sweden
    My Air just left Shanghai. I am glad the chinese apparently work weekends. And I'm glad that the time zones will help bring my air home faster [​IMG]
     
  4. NorCal

    NorCal Senior member

    Messages:
    8,419
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    In other news, why do Macs not have HDMI ports on their lap tops? Does Apple have a dog in that fight or will they just wait five more years, release a new version that has what every product on the market has and call it revolutionary?
     
  5. Tokyo Slim

    Tokyo Slim Senior member

    Messages:
    19,179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Where Eagles Dare!
    In other news, why do Macs not have HDMI ports on their lap tops? Does Apple have a dog in that fight or will they just wait five more years, release a new version that has what every product on the market has and call it revolutionary?
    Why would they use a standardized interface protocol? This is Apple we're talking about here. It would also cost them $10,000 a year to license HDMI so that they could put it into their computers. Gotta pinch those pennies!
     
  6. NorCal

    NorCal Senior member

    Messages:
    8,419
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Why would they use a standardized interface protocol? This is Apple we're talking about here.

    It would also cost them $10,000 a year to license HDMI so that they could put it into their computers. Gotta pinch those pennies!


    Honestly is the only reason b/c it paints you into a corner?
    I mean once you buy one product then another and they only work with each other and other Apple products you have $ sunk and just keep rolling. It REALLY is starting to piss me off b/c Apple does some things very, very well. e.g. their multi touch track pad is so good and so nice to use I can't really imagine having a lap top w/o one.
    But damn... shit is limited at times.
     
  7. haganah

    haganah Senior member

    Messages:
    6,351
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    What is it that the macbook air can't do? I mean it should be able to run office, itunes, web, etc. right? And I'm assuming it should be fine playing a video or watching a game? Are we talking heavy computing which I'd never have to deal with really? I am getting a little tired waiting for both the new ipad and macbook pro. maybe i'll just get an air instead.
     
  8. Tokyo Slim

    Tokyo Slim Senior member

    Messages:
    19,179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Where Eagles Dare!
    Once you buy one product then another and they only work with each other and other Apple products you have $ sunk and just keep rolling.

    FTFY
     
  9. haganah

    haganah Senior member

    Messages:
    6,351
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    In other news, why do Macs not have HDMI ports on their lap tops? Does Apple have a dog in that fight or will they just wait five more years, release a new version that has what every product on the market has and call it revolutionary?
    what's the point of having it if they don't offer bluray either? are people connecting their laptops to hdmi televisions? and isn't the dvi/hdmi converter cheap anyway? i remember reading that displayport allowed you to connect to hdmi but i've never connected a laptop to a tv so i don't know.
     
  10. Tokyo Slim

    Tokyo Slim Senior member

    Messages:
    19,179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Where Eagles Dare!
    what's the point of having it if they don't offer bluray either? are people connecting their laptops to hdmi televisions? and isn't the dvi/hdmi converter cheap anyway?
    Yeah, but that only works if they have a DVI port. Which at least the 13" dont. They have DisplayPort. Which is not really compatible.
     
  11. NorCal

    NorCal Senior member

    Messages:
    8,419
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    what's the point of having it if they don't offer bluray either? are people connecting their laptops to hdmi televisions? and isn't the dvi/hdmi converter cheap anyway? i remember reading that displayport allowed you to connect to hdmi but i've never connected a laptop to a tv so i don't know.

    The point is it would be nice to be able to hook a lap top up to a TV if I want to. Considering the amount of computing power a modern lap top has you should be able to get away with only having one computer. By restricting the usability by leaving off things like an HDMI Apple does it's clients a disservice. Not everybody can afford several computers each costing over a $1000. My MacBook might not be the perfect all in one computer but it is what I have and these type of limitations are starting to piss me off.
     
  12. haganah

    haganah Senior member

    Messages:
    6,351
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    The point is it would be nice to be able to hook a lap top up to a TV if I want to. Considering the amount of computing power a modern lap top has you should be able to get away with only having one computer. By restricting the usability by leaving off things like an HDMI Apple does it's clients a disservice. Not everybody can afford several computers each costing over a $1000. My MacBook might not be the perfect all in one computer but it is what I have and these type of limitations are starting to piss me off.

    But why do you want to hook it up to a tv? It doesn't have bluray. To use as a really big monitor or something? And does yours not have a dvi or displayport connection?
     
  13. GQgeek

    GQgeek Senior member

    Messages:
    17,933
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Location:
    Canuckistan
    But why do you want to hook it up to a tv? It doesn't have bluray. To use as a really big monitor or something? And does yours not have a dvi or displayport connection?

    What about a projector for powerpoint presentations or whatever? It seems to me that's the most common use. Most projectors don't have displayport because displayport was designed for very high resolution displays. You need it for 30" monitors, for example. 27" monitors are usually just standard HD and hdmi or dvi is fine for those ones.
     
  14. haganah

    haganah Senior member

    Messages:
    6,351
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    What about a projector for powerpoint presentations or whatever? It seems to me that's the most common use. Most projectors don't have displayport because displayport was designed for very high resolution displays. You need it for 30" monitors, for example. 27" monitors are usually just standard HD and hdmi or dvi is fine for those ones.

    I don't use projectors much so I guess I have zero input to provide on that. The times I have used it, I've used it with a PC laptop since it was for work. Never put any thought into what connection they use, but here i'm assuming these would be a very economical solution?

    http://www.google.com/products/catal...wAg#ps-sellers
     
  15. blairh

    blairh Senior member

    Messages:
    777
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    The point is it would be nice to be able to hook a lap top up to a TV if I want to. Considering the amount of computing power a modern lap top has you should be able to get away with only having one computer. By restricting the usability by leaving off things like an HDMI Apple does it's clients a disservice. Not everybody can afford several computers each costing over a $1000. My MacBook might not be the perfect all in one computer but it is what I have and these type of limitations are starting to piss me off.
    "Laptop" is one word. What are you trying to hookup your TV to? There are adapters you can buy from Monoprice to attach a MDP cable to HDMI. Everything in the Apple lineup can be hooked up to your HDTV.
     
  16. Matt

    Matt Senior member

    Messages:
    11,179
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    Sunny Saigon
    ...of course with basically any other laptop on earth, you could save yourself the dongle, cos they would just use a standard connection. Do dongles count as extra weight for those of you so desparate to save 200 grams?



    *posted from my Macbook Pro that annoys me every time I have to connect it to a projector.
     
  17. NorCal

    NorCal Senior member

    Messages:
    8,419
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    But why do you want to hook it up to a tv? It doesn't have bluray. To use as a really big monitor or something? And does yours not have a dvi or displayport connection?

    To stream from NetFlix for one.
     
  18. NorCal

    NorCal Senior member

    Messages:
    8,419
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    "Laptop" is one word. What are you trying to hookup your TV to? There are adapters you can buy from Monoprice to attach a MDP cable to HDMI. Everything in the Apple lineup can be hooked up to your HDTV.
    Thanks for correcting me, how about "douchebag?" At this moment I don't have a HDTV. I'm looking into buying one and doing the whole computer as media center thing and while someday I might buy a dedicated unit I would like to be able to use my MB. And frankly I should be able to as a matter of policy. More than anything that is what annoys me, that here I have a 1000k piece of electronic equipment and I need to fuck around with a bunch of extra connections to be able to use a type of connection that is the industry standard. I'm sure I could figure out how to make it work but really I shouldn't have to.
     
  19. Tokyo Slim

    Tokyo Slim Senior member

    Messages:
    19,179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Where Eagles Dare!
    Thanks for correcting me, how about "douchebag?" At this moment I don't have a HDTV. I'm looking into buying one and doing the whole computer as media center thing and while someday I might buy a dedicated unit I would like to be able to use my MB. And frankly I should be able to as a matter of policy. More than anything that is what annoys me, that here I have a 1000k piece of electronic equipment and I need to fuck around with a bunch of extra connections to be able to use a type of connection that is the industry standard. I'm sure I could figure out how to make it work but really I shouldn't have to.
    Well the other option is to look for a tv with a DisplayPort input. They might exist. Also be aware that if you go the adapter route, you might have to string an additional audio cable, since DisplayPort wasn't really meant to carry an audio signal. I hear that there are ways around that, but certainly nothing as easy as one HDMI cable plug and play. PC. It "just works". [​IMG]
     
  20. blairh

    blairh Senior member

    Messages:
    777
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Thanks for correcting me, how about "douchebag?"
    At this moment I don't have a HDTV. I'm looking into buying one and doing the whole computer as media center thing and while someday I might buy a dedicated unit I would like to be able to use my MB.

    And frankly I should be able to as a matter of policy. More than anything that is what annoys me, that here I have a 1000k piece of electronic equipment and I need to fuck around with a bunch of extra connections to be able to use a type of connection that is the industry standard.

    I'm sure I could figure out how to make it work but really I shouldn't have to.


    I'd rather you get mad and call me a douchebag for correcting you then spend any remaining time of your life misspelling "laptop".

    Instead of getting pissed that you have to figure something out why not just figure out the necessary adapter that you need and stop bitching. What MB do you have? If you have a Mini DisplayPort on your MB then you can get a MDP/HDMI cable.
     

Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by