• STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Looking to build knowledge on how to raise audience for an e-commerce shop

I Zhekov

Reaction score
Hi,

I am looking to raise the brand awareness and traffic for a StartUp online shop. In order to be more effective I feel that i have some knowledge gaps to fill on the subject.

Could you please recommend a good reading, source or a course that helped you gather insights in the field?

Thank you!

v0rtex

Reaction score
Here's a knowledge-dump of things I've learned being on the periphery of a number of successful digital marketing campaigns at various agencies:

Pay Per Click (PPC) is a waste of money unless you're spending enough, in the right area, to make an impact. Spending $100 a month even on the right keywords is barely worth the effort, spending $10k a month on the wrong keywords is also a waste.

What are you selling? Your marketing strategy will be different depending on what you are selling. Utility/commodity goods = highly competitive, Luxury goods = better sold via PR/etc to build up brand awareness. Before you spend time/money on any kind of promotion, make sure you understand what it is you are selling - what's your unique selling point? Why would I buy from you? What are the benefits of your offering?

You need to find a niche to compete in that has little competition but a lot of need. Can use keyword research to try to find out what these are. eg: Selling "hats" is hugely competitive and will need $mm to break into. Selling "atlanta georgia mma baseball caps" is probably too specific. Selling "mma baseball caps" is (probably) a small-ish market with no major players so you can create a competitive business in that niche for little startup cost.