Dismiss Notice

STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Is it really worth it to buy expensive shoes?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by Jared Delaney, Nov 10, 2017.

1. Jared Delaney

Jared Delaney Member

Hello community! This is my first time here. I work a corporate job for a big retailer and have recently got more interested in shoes. In particular, I have been reading about the difference between regularly constructed shoes and Goodyear Welts. For the record, I am not a VP or anything like that, if that even factors in. I do well though.

I am frugal by nature, which puts me in the category of Johnston & Murphy and Cole Haan for my work shoes, which can also double as going out shoes if need be. I use shoe trees, polish, and conditioner. The J&M shoes feel awesome on my feet and I can usually score them for about $100 on sale and have got some J&M Tyndall's for stupid cheap in the past.

My loaded question is this, do you feel it is really warranted to step up to Allen Edmonds level of shoe? If I had about 5-7 pairs of my "frugal" shoes then I wouldn't be wearing them out that fast and I give them time to dry/rest.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated. Also, what others shoe makers am I not thinking of that are good quality? Keep in mind I am frugal. but could go up if warranted. Finally, do you have any go-to sources for good deals on shoes? Black Friday? Nordstrom Rack? What about AE seconds? Are those any good?

2. Andy57

Andy57 Distinguished Member

Allen Edmonds isn't a step up from anything much other than sneakers, in my opinion. And they're not expensive. But, to answer your question: yes, it really is worth it.