Is it possible to find a midnight blue tuxedo on a budget?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by sherwin, Apr 14, 2011.

1. sherwin

sherwin Senior member

Hi everyone,

My wedding is coming up in September and I would love a midnight blue tux. I'm having trouble finding any at all. It would also have to be affordable. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I wouldn't mind a foreign tailor.

Thanks!

2. aravenel

aravenel Senior member

What do you define as affordable?

3. sherwin

sherwin Senior member

What do you define as affordable?
    < $1,000 I'm a student [​IMG]

4. RogerC

RogerC Senior member

Gieves and Hawkes.

5. sherwin

sherwin Senior member

Gieves and Hawkes.
    Thank you. They do have one item which is in my range but happens to be "Navy." Is this going to be significantly different than midnight blue, or do they just call it navy? Link: http://www.gievesandhawkes.com/shop/...nner-suit.html I'm going to call them about MTM tomorrow (closed right now). I appreciate the lead!

6. inimitable

inimitable Senior member

Your not going to get MTM from Gieves for &lt;$1000

7. Kenneth Cole Haan

Kenneth Cole Haan Senior member

Thank you. They do have one item which is in my range but happens to be "Navy." Is this going to be significantly different than midnight blue, or do they just call it navy? Link: http://www.gievesandhawkes.com/shop/...nner-suit.html

I'm going to call them about MTM tomorrow (closed right now). I appreciate the lead!

The color navy can mean different shades. Here's the authority:

See

http://www.blacktieguide.com/Classic...ic_Tuxedos.htm

There's a picture showing the difference (in artificial lighting) black & midnight blue side by side. Notice the subtle difference between midnight blue and black; (and that's in harsh lighting). The Gieves jacket though, with its black lapels, makes the other 'navy' fabric look brighter to me than midnight blue. So I say no, it's not midnight blue.

[​IMG]

8. sherwin