interview attire

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by khalilch2, Feb 19, 2013.

1. khalilch2

khalilch2 Member

I have a navy speckled tweed suit that fits me very well, however it may look a little too flashy or informal for an interview.

I'm a second year university student in Computer Engineering, do you think this suit might be too informal for an engineering interview? I know the usual attire should be a navy suit, white shirt, plain tie, however I do not own a navy suit. I also don't have the money to buy/tailor one at the moment.

What do you guys think? I can post pictures of the suit/the fit if you'd like.

top: http://media.topman.com/wcsstore/TopMan/images/catalog/87J75FNAV_large.jpg
    bottom: http://media.topman.com/wcsstore/TopMan/images/catalog/87T75FNAV_large.jpg

Last edited: Feb 19, 2013
  2. biged781

biged781 Senior member

It would help to see a picture of the suit, but unless it is way out there, my personal opinion is that it is probably ok. For reference, I am a mid level (senior by title) engineer who interviews candidates on a regular basis. I just (two weeks ago) recommended that we hired a guy who looked like he was wearing his father's suit jacket, had mismatched trousers, and some sort of horrible, casual button up underneath.

I didn't care all that much as it was not entirely relevant to the job. I want to see some effort in regards to dress, but ultimately, I want to hire smart engineers who can make meaningful contributions to what we are doing. I made a (well intentioned) crack about the suit to my boss, and we both agreed that we should hire him.

That said, I'm an engineer. I can't speak to the opinions of people who work in other departments who may be weighing in on the hiring decision.

3. khalilch2

khalilch2 Member

I've provided pictures of the top and the bottom of the suit, but yeah I suppose engineering firms don't care too much about what you wear.

4. biged781

biged781 Senior member