• STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Ike Behar shirts and collar fit

shutterbug

Reaction score
Hello all. I have been a lurker for about a month on this great board and decided to join.

Having recently made the decision to step up and enter the wonderful (and wallet sucking) world of higher-end clothing. I am still a newbie to quality men's fashion, so I will likely have lots of questions in the future, although this board has been a fantastic source of information thus far.

Here is my dilemma. I have found a few shirt brands I like and feel are within my budget even if I have to pay retail. One of these is Ike Behar. In the past month I bought four Ike shirts. I normally wear a 16-33 and bought this size. I tried one on in the store (a Scott II style) and was relieved it didn't fit like a tent even though it had extra fabric for my 33 waist. I thought the collar seemed a bit loose but manageable. I bought several and went home, but after I tried them with a few ties I discovered the collar size to be larger than I thought and I would appreciate some advice.

1) First of all, let me say that I have been running a lot lately and have lost some of the size I had built up from weightlifting for many years. All of my older shirts are 16 in the neck and still fit fine, but my natural neck size is 15 1/2 now. (I should add that I have not lifted weights in a year, but plan to resume in the near future to supplement my running and push ups/pullups I have been doing).

From the Ike Behar website, I discovered that Ike adds an extra 5/8 inch to his shirt collars to account for shrinkage from high temperature presses above 350 degrees. So, what I am experiencing is slightly over an inch extra collar girth.