I want to reproduce a book's illustrations to use as art for my walls. Legal?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by dusty, Jul 4, 2007.

1. dusty

dusty Senior member

Or rather, is there a legal way to do it short of obtaining permission from the author?

Second, where should I go to have such prints made (and have them look decent)?

2. yachtie

yachtie Senior member

Hey, what's a little copyright infringement among friends?[​IMG]

3. SGladwell

SGladwell Senior member

I'm no lawyer, or even a 1L until a couple months from now. So my legal opinion is worthless. But here it is anyway.

Intuitively it seems to me that, if you own the book making copies of its pages for your own use is little different from taking a CD and burning it into iTunes. Fair use. If you don't own the book, then it would be copyright infringement. If you ever sell the prints, or sell the book and keep the prints, that would be piracy.

However, rarely to pictures blown up from books or magazines look very good. The resolution tends to be high enough to look great on the page, but not a dpi more.

4. dusty

dusty Senior member

I'm actually not sure how large they would have to be blown up, if it all. The book itself might be big anough. I can't say for sure because it's a rare book and I don't own a copy yet.

5. Gradstudent78

Gradstudent78 Senior member

Or rather, is there a legal way to do it short of obtaining permission from the author?

Second, where should I go to have such prints made (and have them look decent)?

How old is the book? Personally I wouldn't be too concerned considering its for personal use.

6. dusty

dusty Senior member

I think it was published originally in 1981. The Codex Seraphinianus.

7. calvin1663

calvin1663 Senior member

unless you're inviting the author's attorney into your office, who's going to care?

8. lawyerdad

lawyerdad Senior member

Don't worry about the law thing, unless you're planning to charge people to come in and look at your office.