Hype for Japanese Denim?

Discussion in 'Streetwear and Denim' started by braidkid, Jul 30, 2006.

1. braidkid

braidkid Senior member

Hello,
    I'm fairly new to the raw selvedge denim thing. Until recently I've been a sucker for 7, rock&republic, citizen, etc....I just bought my first pair of earnest sewn fulton's in the line dry and can't wait to wear them everyday for my own distinct wear.

My questions is, what is all the hype behind Japanese denim? Japan would be the last place I would think of being ahead in the fashion industry. Are earnest sewn's anywhere close to Japanese denim quality?

2. DNW

DNW Senior member

Japan would be the last place I would think of being ahead in the fashion industry.

You're gonna get flamed for making that statement. So I'll save you the pain now and just say that you're flat wrong. The reason why Japanese jeans are often more expensive is because many of the denimheads seek authenticity. They try to faithfully reproduce old school American denim with better denim and craftsmanship. Plus, importation costs push up prices even further. Is there hype? Probably a little. But to say that Japanese jeans do not deserve high marks is just flat out ignorant.

3. mizanation

mizanation Senior member

Japan would be the last place I would think of being ahead in the fashion industry.

i guess you don't get out much.

4. poly800rock

poly800rock Senior member

You're gonna get flamed for making that statement. So I'll save you the pain now and just say that you're flat wrong. The reason why Japanese jeans are often more expensive is because many of the denimheads seek authenticity. They try to faithfully reproduce old school American denim with better denim and craftsmanship. Plus, importation costs push up prices even further. Is there hype? Probably a little. But to say that Japanese jeans do not deserve high marks is just flat out ignorant.

thats such a superfuture response...

5. DNW

DNW Senior member