How many times do you read your email before sending?

Discussion in 'Business, Careers & Education' started by mr.orange, Jul 7, 2011.

1. mr.orange

mr.orange Senior member

I've recently taken a lot more responsibilities at work and one of my duties is to email people for paperwork, or documents that we need from them. I'm not very good at emailing so I tend to spend about 5 minutes brainstorming, writing, and editing before I send it off. I probably read it about six or seven times. I don't think I have OCD, it's just that I want my message to be clear and concise.

btw I do the same thing with poasting and text messaging but, because it's totally casual I tend to not be so anal about wording and grammar.

2. javyn

javyn Senior member

3 or 4 times, but most of the emails I send at work end with "dictated but not read"

3. mr.orange

mr.orange Senior member

well im no big shot so I have to read, and reread my work email lol.

4. imageWIS

imageWIS Senior member

I've noticed this: SVP's at companies tend to write fragmented emails.

CEO's tend to write even shorter emails: see Steve Jobs.

5. javyn

javyn Senior member

Me neither, but I send emails on behalf of big shot who drunkenly talks a bunch of shit into his dictaphone the night before.

6. RSS

RSS Senior member

Not enough.

7. Thomas

Thomas Senior member

A few times, and sometimes if it's a particularly prickly subject I have someone else (whom I trust) read it, too.

8. RSS

RSS Senior member

...sometimes if it's a particularly prickly subject I have someone else (whom I trust) read it, too.
    +1

9. Saturdays

Saturdays Senior member

I love the Google Labs "Undo" option in GMail, it saves me many times. I usually re-read, sometimes forget to, hit undo and re-read and then send.

For the most part its a good thing to re-read 3-4 times. You can never be too careful.

10. alliswell

alliswell Senior member