1. In 2018. by way of thanks for being a part of this community, we'll be choosing 16 active members of our community at random to receive a special gift and a gift certificate for one of our affiliate vendors, to represent each of our 16 years.

Fok and the Styleforum Team

Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

How many times do you read your email before sending?

Discussion in 'Business, Careers & Education' started by mr.orange, Jul 7, 2011.

1. mr.orange

mr.orange Distinguished Member

I've recently taken a lot more responsibilities at work and one of my duties is to email people for paperwork, or documents that we need from them. I'm not very good at emailing so I tend to spend about 5 minutes brainstorming, writing, and editing before I send it off. I probably read it about six or seven times. I don't think I have OCD, it's just that I want my message to be clear and concise.

btw I do the same thing with poasting and text messaging but, because it's totally casual I tend to not be so anal about wording and grammar.

2. javyn

javyn Stylish Dinosaur

3 or 4 times, but most of the emails I send at work end with "dictated but not read"

3. mr.orange

mr.orange Distinguished Member

well im no big shot so I have to read, and reread my work email lol.

4. imageWIS

imageWIS Stylish Dinosaur

I've noticed this: SVP's at companies tend to write fragmented emails.

CEO's tend to write even shorter emails: see Steve Jobs.

5. javyn

javyn Stylish Dinosaur

Me neither, but I send emails on behalf of big shot who drunkenly talks a bunch of shit into his dictaphone the night before.

6. RSS

RSS Stylish Dinosaur

Not enough.

7. Thomas

Thomas Stylish Dinosaur