How Good Is or Isn't Magnanni As a Dress Shoe?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by Jerry52, Sep 17, 2007.

1. Jerry52

Jerry52 Senior member

I was in a department store yesterday, and the top of the lines they carried was Magnanni. I saw it there in-person for the first time.

I zeroed in on the Magnanni Montana leather dress shoes, blucher or "derby" lace-ups, retailing for $225, so I tried on a pair.

Very tough to predict foot comfort and foot support in ten minutes hoofing around the shoe department, but I thought they seemed promising.

I'm no shoe expert (I leave that to the rest of you, LOL) but from my inspection the Magnanni's were decent looking and decent-feeling. Construction seemed OK.

Not world-beaters I'm sure but seemed alright at $225. Actually I have a way to buy them for about $135.

The other "better" shoes this store carried were Coach and Bacco Buchi. The Bacco Buchi were non-repairable, and looked attractive, but on my feet weren't very comfortable and didn't seem a good fit. On close examination, some of the stitching work seemed a bit sloppy. I didn't think that the Coach shoes compared well in leather quality with the Magnanni.

So...just curious the general esteem or lack thereof around here for Magnanni as a dress shoe- construction, comfort, foot support for long-term walking and standing. Would they be a better choice, worse choice or toss-up with a typical Alden, Allen Edmonds or Mephisto, for example?

The salesman called them hand-built and said that the store was fortunate to be able to carry them...

Jerry

2. sho'nuff

sho'nuff grrrrrrrr!!

if the store was DSW or Payless , yes, it is fortunate for them to carry them.

if it was nordstrom and the like , magnanni relatively is a mediocre shoe.

although some nice refined designs and the leather is not that bad, it is not a substantial shoe by any means and cannot be compared to alden or even Allen edmonds made in USA dress shoes i would safely say.