how bad is a tuxedo w/ long tie?

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by aybojs, May 3, 2006.

1. aybojs

aybojs Senior member

I have a formal event that I may be attending at the end of this week, and getting dressed is usually a very easy process since I pretty much stick to the basics. That was at least until I was going through my wardrobe and realized that I apparently left my bow tie home (several thousand miles away) on my last trip back. The campus mail service here is too slow for me to order something online or have my current one sent from home, the local store options are very mediocre, and honestly, as a student I just don't have $40-50 to spend on a minor accessory I'd only use once anyway.

I do have a black grenadine long tie that might be a decent substitute. It's a college event, so I'm sure I could get away with it, though I figured I'd post here and see what the consensus is on the viability of that look. For the record, my tuxedo is a double breasted one and my usual formal shirt choice is a basic white, spread-collar shirt with no studs.

2. whoopee

whoopee Senior member

That'll be fine. It's not ideal but at least you're not wearing a formal shirt, so the only "off" part will be the DJ.

3. coachvu

coachvu Senior member

Since it's a college event, I wouldn't worry about it. In general, though, the DB jacket with a long tie may leave too little shirt showing. It depends on how high the jacket buttons. More personal taste then a rule, I think.

4. Margaret

Margaret Senior member

If you think you can get away with it, then no problem.