Highland and PW Minor-made footwear thread (no storm pictures)

Discussion in 'Streetwear and Denim' started by misterjuiceman, May 13, 2014.

1. misterjuiceman

misterjuiceman Senior member

It's just because they're cheaper. It's the same reason Rancourt uses fiberboard insoles on their Blake-stitched boots rather than a leather insole.

edit: No storm photos here. Feel free to discuss the construction techniques of other related makers, like Rancourt.

Last edited: May 13, 2014
  2. misterjuiceman

To get back on-track after Crane's interrupted the discussion in the OSB thread, here's what we were discussing before: it seems that Highland is using a fake welt for their OSB handsewns. [​IMG]

3. BolognaFingers

BolognaFingers Senior member

What does that mean? That the stitching is just for looks? Sorry I'm a novice.

4. misterjuiceman

Yep. The welt is pre-stitched and glued on for appearance.

5. tanbar

tanbar Senior member

Was just looking around a came across pictures that clearly show the midsole underneath the fake welt:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

As well as pictures with no visible midsole, except for a slightly visible line that runs a little bit below the fake welt:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Looks like there's some sort of white midsole, wonder if it's just a painted leather midsole or some other material??

6. misterjuiceman

My understanding is that the white midsole is referred to as a rubber slip sole. On boots like these

[​IMG]

it's stitched to the midsole. The slip sole is then, I think, cemented to the outsole. My guess is that the cement is more effective for rubber on rubber, and that's why it's used. A thick outsole like that can't be easily stitched, so that's the next best thing.