• I'm happy to introduce the Styleforum Happy Hour, our brand new podcast featuring lively discussion about menswear and the fashion industry. In the inaugural edition, a discussion of what's going on in retail today. Please check it out on the Journal. All episodes will be also be available soon on your favorite podcast platform.

  • STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

    Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

    Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

Help with homebuilt computer

AR_Six

"Sookie!"
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
10,770
Reaction score
228
My new home built PC has a problem. At first time startup, my monitor gets no signal from it. All the fans are running, the lights are good and the DVD drive will open and shut, but nothing is getting to the monitor. Everything is getting power, as far as I can tell. Any ideas?
 

Piobaire

Not left of center?
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
60,012
Reaction score
22,655
Is the video card seated tightly? Is the HDD firing up? Are you getting that "beep" at the end of the POST test?
 

Logan

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
592
Reaction score
2
Is there a monitor output on your motherboard? Maybe you need to install a driver for the video card to work?
 

Piobaire

Not left of center?
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
60,012
Reaction score
22,655
I've built a number of boxes but there are real experts here. Have you tried that monitor on another machine? If you're not getting the POST test beep, might be a bad MB.
 

Shoe City Thinker

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
318
Reaction score
2
Originally Posted by AR_Six
My new home built PC has a problem. At first time startup, my monitor gets no signal from it. All the fans are running, the lights are good and the DVD drive will open and shut, but nothing is getting to the monitor. Everything is getting power, as far as I can tell. Any ideas?

  • Double check to make sure your DIMMs are seated properly in the slot. Another potential problem is that you didn't read the documentation for the motherboard and failed to install the DIMMs in the correct slots.

  • There's a possibility that you connected the power switch lead backwards

  • Again, check to make sure your video card is seated properly

  • Check to make sure that your CPU fan is seated properly on the CPU and the CPU fan is connected to the motherboard.
 

cross22

Distinguished Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
4,546
Reaction score
975
When you press caps lock and/or num lock on the keyboard, do the indicator lights go on? If so your OS has booted fine and it's only a graphic card/monitor/cable issue.
 

AR_Six

"Sookie!"
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
10,770
Reaction score
228
The CPU fan was installed by someone who's better at this than me, and it's running full gun so I think it's okay. I just tried re-seating everything (DIMMs included; switched them to the other channel to see if that would help) to no avail.
 

whiteslashasian

Stylish Dinosaur
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
11,917
Reaction score
1,972
Originally Posted by AR_Six
Haha nevermind, I'm a moron. This mobo has a configuration where the ATX12v 4 pin power for the CPU itself is sort of hidden off in the corner and I just forgot to plug that in. It's working (or at least booting) now.

Sounds about right.

I was thinking it could have been that your Mobo BIOS doesn't support your CPU (happens with newer gen CPU's like the Thuban's from AMD and older AM2+ mobos) or the ram wasn't in properly.

Glad it's working now.
 

Piobaire

Not left of center?
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
60,012
Reaction score
22,655
Originally Posted by AR_Six
Haha nevermind, I'm a moron. This mobo has a configuration where the ATX12v 4 pin power for the CPU itself is sort of hidden off in the corner and I just forgot to plug that in. It's working (or at least booting) now.

Yes, power always helps!

I hate having to play with the jumpers to get various things working properly. Always seems like there's one light, fan rpm monitor, or something you just can't get working right.
 

skitlets

Distinguished Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
2,316
Reaction score
1,894
Originally Posted by AR_Six
Haha nevermind, I'm a moron. This mobo has a configuration where the ATX12v 4 pin power for the CPU itself is sort of hidden off in the corner and I just forgot to plug that in. It's working (or at least booting) now.

Common mistake. Glad you got your PC working.
 

AR_Six

"Sookie!"
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
10,770
Reaction score
228
Yup, all good now. Currently humming along at 23C for mobo, 33-34C for CPU, about the same for the graphics, all fan-cooled for the moment (3x200mm + 1x120mm). I bought Dragon Age Origins just to give it a test and it'll run the thing with everything maxed and no problems. All's well that ends well. I was just worried the Ram or GPU were dead, getting a replacement video card would have been okay but finding a 2x4GB ram configuration in this country was enough of a treasure quest the first time around.
 

Featured Sponsor

How many pairs of shoes do you own?

  • 1 - 4

    Votes: 16 3.6%
  • 5 - 10

    Votes: 75 16.7%
  • 11 - 20

    Votes: 149 33.1%
  • 21 - 30

    Votes: 75 16.7%
  • 31 - 40

    Votes: 37 8.2%
  • 41 - 50

    Votes: 26 5.8%
  • 51 - 60

    Votes: 16 3.6%
  • 61 - 70

    Votes: 9 2.0%
  • 71 - 80

    Votes: 13 2.9%
  • 81 - 90

    Votes: 3 0.7%
  • 91 - 100

    Votes: 4 0.9%
  • 100+

    Votes: 27 6.0%

Related Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
427,542
Messages
9,200,072
Members
193,183
Latest member
MarlonMahmoud

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by

Top