Dismiss Notice

STYLE. COMMUNITY. GREAT CLOTHING.

Bored of counting likes on social networks? At Styleforum, you’ll find rousing discussions that go beyond strings of emojis.

Click Here to join Styleforum's thousands of style enthusiasts today!

help me computer experts :(

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Teger, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. dennis1024

    dennis1024 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    BTW with http://199.59.148.82/ I can access Twitter just fine, something which is normally banned here in China. So now I can tell the whole world what I'm having for breakfast.

    Interesting, makes me wonder if http://195.234.175.160 would work(amnesty international).
     


  2. codetomorrow

    codetomorrow Active Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Northern California
    Is it system wide or user specific? Have you created a new location in network preferences? Does it work in SafeBoot? Can you boot to the OS X install disk and ping the website? Have you cleared the hosts file? Have you pulled /System/Library/SystemConfiguration/ and restarted?

    If you can boot to disk and ping the site then it's an issue with your OS. If you can't, and you're connected directly to the modem, then it's an issue with you're ISP
     


  3. Teger

    Teger Senior member

    Messages:
    21,964
    Likes Received:
    6,612
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    it's not an issue with my isp because it occurs regardless of the network im connected to (home, school, friends).

    im not sure if i still have my osx install disk. i will look for it. how do i clear my host file?
     


  4. intent

    intent Senior member

    Messages:
    4,393
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, ME
    I can't believe nobody's said this---virus scan?
     


  5. Teger

    Teger Senior member

    Messages:
    21,964
    Likes Received:
    6,612
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    but.. i have a mac!
     


  6. intent

    intent Senior member

    Messages:
    4,393
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, ME
    but.. i have a mac!
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     


  7. codetomorrow

    codetomorrow Active Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Northern California
    I can't believe nobody's said this---virus scan?
    Your Mac isn't going to get a virus any more than your toaster will.
     


  8. CrackBaby

    CrackBaby Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    obviously there's something wrong with your brain, macs never do anything wrong, didn't you watch all those commercials?


    cycle router, modem, restart computer, see what happens. i dunno how to do this on mac or if they even permit you to but on PC an error like that is typically your router denying access or a DNS error.

    you can clear your computer's DNS cache in command prompt with:

    ipconfig /flushdns

    then
    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /renew


    I dunno how you'd do that on a toy computer though.
     


  9. MikeDT

    MikeDT Senior member

    Messages:
    4,276
    Likes Received:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    China, Mongolia and UK
    Interesting, makes me wonder if http://195.234.175.160 would work(amnesty international).

    That URL is blocked by the Great FireWall. I guess it hasn't sussed the earlier Twitter URL yet.
     


  10. MikeDT

    MikeDT Senior member

    Messages:
    4,276
    Likes Received:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    China, Mongolia and UK
    Your Mac isn't going to get a virus any more than your toaster will.
    Actually malware for Macs does exist and it is out in the wild. But you have to really go out of your way to get it, namely installing pirated software.
     


  11. codetomorrow

    codetomorrow Active Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Northern California
    Actually malware for Macs does exist and it is out in the wild. But you have to really go out of your way to get it, namely installing pirated software.

    There never has been and will never be a Mac virus. I didn't say anything about malware. Microsoft office could be considered malware. Malware is simply a very extreme version of, lets say, a poorly written application. If a user installs "I'm gonna fuck up your computer.app" which requires an admin's user name and password then they deserve whatever the app does to their computer. Don't however, confuse this with a virus.

    </rant>
     


  12. deadly7

    deadly7 Senior member

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    194
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Your Mac isn't going to get a virus any more than your toaster will.
    You're an idiot.

    obviously there's something wrong with your brain, macs never do anything wrong, didn't you watch all those commercials?


    cycle router, modem, restart computer, see what happens. i dunno how to do this on mac or if they even permit you to but on PC an error like that is typically your router denying access or a DNS error.

    you can clear your computer's DNS cache in command prompt with:

    ipconfig /flushdns

    then
    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /renew


    I dunno how you'd do that on a toy computer though.

    Lol at you considering Windows more powerful than Mac, which is based on BSD and has a terminal.

    There never has been and will never be a Mac virus. I didn't say anything about malware. Microsoft office could be considered malware. Malware is simply a very extreme version of, lets say, a poorly written application. If a user installs "I'm gonna fuck up your computer.app" which requires an admin's user name and password then they deserve whatever the app does to their computer. Don't however, confuse this with a virus.

    </rant>

    Still an idiot.

    ---

    Teger, try changing your DNS settings:
    http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html

    Also, is this with wifi or via ethernet? Does one work, while the other doesn't?
     


  13. CrackBaby

    CrackBaby Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Lol at you considering Windows more powerful than Mac, which is based on BSD and has a terminal.

    look brah, clearly you're on that phaggytime 24/7 with linux or some other kind of virgin until he's 35 OS but i never said windows was inherently more powerful. i said macs were toys, and implied that users of them were children compared to windows users which is proven again and again by mac bros asking the dumbest of dumb questions and wtfing when something relatively basic goes wrong with their shit.
     


  14. MikeDT

    MikeDT Senior member

    Messages:
    4,276
    Likes Received:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    China, Mongolia and UK
    There never has been and will never be a Mac virus.

    Wasn't there something about the Titanic been unsinkable?
     


  15. MikeDT

    MikeDT Senior member

    Messages:
    4,276
    Likes Received:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    China, Mongolia and UK
    look brah, clearly you're on that phaggytime 24/7 with linux or some other kind of virgin until he's 35 OS but i never said windows was inherently more powerful. i said macs were toys, and implied that users of them were children compared to windows users .
    From experience some Windows users can be quite dumb as well. Opening every email attachement possible, installing every piece of spyware shovelwear they find. These sort of people maybe better off with a Mac. Windows in the corporate environment can be OK, because it's locked-down and administered by the IT department. Users shouldn't be able to get into trouble here, but they still do, infected USB sticks etc. Myself, I bought a Mac because I didn't want to be dealing with Windows Vista. Although I've since gone on to using Linux Mint as my main OS, and won't be buying another Mac. Now I'm living in China, is a very good reason I won't be using Windows.
     


Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by