1. And... we're back. You'll notice that all of your images are back as well, as are our beloved emoticons, including the infamous :foo: We have also worked with our server folks and developers to fix the issues that were slowing down the site.

    There is still work to be done - the images in existing sigs are not yet linked, for example, and we are working on a way to get the images to load faster - which will improve the performance of the site, especially on the pages with a ton of images, and we will continue to work diligently on that and keep you updated.

    Cheers,

    Fok on behalf of the entire Styleforum team
    Dismiss Notice

Help me buy a computer

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by unjung, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. Ace Rimmer

    Ace Rimmer Senior member

    Messages:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia PA
    What I want to do is grab a 46" HDTV and hook up the desktop sort of as a media PC, but also, if need be, a gaming PC.

    You may want to go for a smaller LCD PC monitor.

    First, your typical viewing distance for PCs is two or three feet. With a huge 46" screen you are likely to experience the feeling of being in the front seat of a huge movie theater. Bigger is not always better in that instance. However, if your viewing distance is significantly longer then a big screen might work.

    Second, as others have pointed out you can get higher resolution than 1920 x 1080 on a smaller PC monitor screen. My LCD monitor can display 2048 x 1152 -- and the screen size is only 27". Quality 30" LCD monitors can go even higher.

    Third, if you are using satellite or cable to watch TV then you don't need the expense of a built-in TV tuner. LCD TVs will come with tuners; monitors will not. However, if you are watching over the air broadcasts then obviously the LCD TV is a better option.

    HDMI is not an issue with LCD monitors. So long as your PC's video equipment is HDCP compliant, you can watch copy-protected material through the DVI connection. I don't use the HDMI connection on my PC because my PC (blu-ray player, video card and monitor) all are HDCP compliant through the DVI connection.

    Hope this helps!
     
  2. javyn

    javyn Senior member

    Messages:
    16,747
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Yeah, especially when a comparable Gigabyte ATX doesn't cost any more than what he chose. I can't think of any reason at all to use a mATX mobo in a mid tower. Sure it'll mount in there, but it will probably take effort, and you're limiting yourself right off the bat anyway.
     
  3. Ace Rimmer

    Ace Rimmer Senior member

    Messages:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia PA
    I may have out of date information, but it was my understanding that only the Intel Core i7 x58 CPUs were capable of utilizing triple channel memory?

    Further, even if the above setup was able to use triple-channel memory, wouldn't one need three sticks of RAM (instead of two)?

    Have to do some more research on this ....
     
  4. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    I may have out of date information, but it was my understanding that only the Intel Core i7 x58 CPUs were capable of utilizing triple channel memory?

    Further, even if the above setup was able to use triple-channel memory, wouldn't one need three sticks of RAM (instead of two)?

    Have to do some more research on this ....


    True, the intel chips can utilize triple channel, hence the surge of 3x2gb sticks being sold and used in systems.

    However AMD still only uses Dual Channel, which is what the OP is looking at. They're working on a triple for their next generation of chips.
     
  5. Ace Rimmer

    Ace Rimmer Senior member

    Messages:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia PA
    Not sure what CPU that would be. AMD has pretty much cornered the market for the sub $200 price/performance processors for the last 2 years. $ for $ you cannot beat an AMD Phenom II X4, especially considering the OC headroom you get with them.

    Agree, AMD has the sub-$200 marked nailed down. However, it will be interesting to see how things work out in the coming months.

    Maximum PC magazine reports that Intel will lower the price of the Intel Core i7 950 to $284 in the next few months, which basically renders the Core i7 920 and 930 obsolete. If stores like MicroCenter discount the Core i7 950 to $199.99 (as they did with both the 920 and 930), then PC builders will have serious options if they decide to buy at the upper end of the $200 CPU spectrum.

    The huge caveat in the above is the cost of the mobo and chipset. Intel x58 chipset mobos are not cheap. I think I paid $250 for my Asus x58 mobo in October 2009. Then you have to shell out for three sticks of triple-channel memory, which is also more expensive than dual-channel (I paid $130 for six gigs of Patriot Viper DDR3/1600).

    In short, the coming months will be very interesting as Intel cuts pricing to compete with AMD. It's good for the consumer.
     
  6. hooya2

    hooya2 Senior member

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    forget xp!

    get windows 7 32bit
     
  7. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Agree, AMD has the sub-$200 marked nailed down. However, it will be interesting to see how things work out in the coming months.

    Maximum PC magazine reports that Intel will lower the price of the Intel Core i7 950 to $284 in the next few months, which basically renders the Core i7 920 and 930 obsolete. If stores like MicroCenter discount the Core i7 950 to $199.99 (as they did with both the 920 and 930), then PC builders will have serious options if they decide to buy at the upper end of the $200 CPU spectrum.

    The huge caveat in the above is the cost of the mobo and chipset. Intel x58 chipset mobos are not cheap. I think I paid $250 for my Asus x58 mobo in October 2009. Then you have to shell out for three sticks of triple-channel memory, which is also more expensive than dual-channel (I paid $130 for six gigs of Patriot Viper DDR3/1600).

    In short, the coming months will be very interesting as Intel cuts pricing to compete with AMD. It's good for the consumer.


    I completely agree. An i7 950 for $199 is excellent. However as you pointed out, the mobo and tri channel memory really ratchets up the cost for that system. If you have the extra dough and need the power, it would make for quite a stellar setup.

    I'd be interested to see how AMD handles the intrusion into their bread and butter price range.
     
  8. unjung

    unjung Senior member

    Messages:
    6,544
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    The beach
    Where are you finding these systems? I'm looking on the website under computer systems and not seeing them. Wondering if I'm in the wrong category, or what.

    I'm using the system configurator to build a custom system.

    Still not sure why unjung insists on using a micro-ATX motherboard when he's using an ATX case. Make use of the extra room! You never know when you want to add a TV tuner card or get a large dual slot video card. Better to future proof and it's not like it's an extra charge to get the larger ATX mobo.

    Yeah, especially when a comparable Gigabyte ATX doesn't cost any more than what he chose. I can't think of any reason at all to use a mATX mobo in a mid tower. Sure it'll mount in there, but it will probably take effort, and you're limiting yourself right off the bat anyway.

    I just can't tell the difference. [​IMG] On http://memoryexpress.com, please recommend a mobo, case and PS.
     
  9. javyn

    javyn Senior member

    Messages:
    16,747
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    mATX stands for micro-ATX, which are a bit smaller than regular ATX motherboards so they will fit in mATX cases. There's nothing wrong with an mATX board, but since you are looking at ATX cases, may as well get an ATX mobo to fill it and have more expandability later. Here is a list of ATX mobo's that will house your AM3 processor. Be sure to check the specs on the motherboards you consider to match up the correct ram. (click on ATX in the form factor column) http://www.memoryexpress.com/Product...Sort=Price_Asc If you are not married to memoryexpress.com, newegg.ca has a bit better selection and prices. http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...CE&PageSize=20 I have the Gigabyte GA-770TA-UD3 ATX for my Athlon II Quad core, and like it a lot. It is ready for SATA 6 (for when the solid state drives come down in price) as well as eSATA, and USB 3.0. http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16813128431 It does not have onboard video though, so I had to buy a card (which I wanted to do anyway), so I opted for this. (I see in Canada though, you are not offered the 20 dollar mail in rebate) http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16813128419
     
  10. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Mobo's with AMD northbridge chips will have an integrated GPU if there is a G, GX, or mention of HDMI in the name of the product.

    Ex: GIGABYTE GA-MA785GT-UD3H AM3 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

    This memory express business is getting annoying. You can create wish lists on newegg to put your configs in.

    Case: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...-042-_-Product

    Modular PSU (they have 600w and 700w options, but this 500w should be more than enough for your config + a dedicated GPU later on): http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...-016-_-Product
     
  11. javyn

    javyn Senior member

    Messages:
    16,747
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Man you guys in Canada really get assraped on the shipping [​IMG]

    Also, newegg doesn't offer you guys nearly as many combo deals or rebates. That sucks.
     
  12. imschatz

    imschatz Senior member

    Messages:
    895
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    Man you guys in Canada really get assraped on the shipping [​IMG]

    Also, newegg doesn't offer you guys nearly as many combo deals or rebates. That sucks.

    Ya .. Newegg isn't very good in Canada.

    Been building PC's for years for myself and friends .. and have never had anyone compare to www.ncix.com, not only are their prices very competitive, they have he best shipping and RMA in Canada. I've bought stuff from them, using regular ground shipping, and had it in less then 2 business days (ordered Wednesday afternoon, stuff at door Friday am)
     
  13. Ace Rimmer

    Ace Rimmer Senior member

    Messages:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia PA
    Another quick consideration: USB 3.0 and SATA 6.0 Gb/s are just now starting to make their way into motherboards. If you wait a little while longer, you can take advantage of these new features.
     
  14. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Another quick consideration: USB 3.0 and SATA 6.0 Gb/s are just now starting to make their way into motherboards. If you wait a little while longer, you can take advantage of these new features.

    True. I believe the WD Caviar Black 1TB unjung listed comes in a SATA 6.0 flavor.

    This mobo would be able to take advantage of that along with the USB 3.0, integrated graphics, and ATX form factor: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16813128444
     
  15. javyn

    javyn Senior member

    Messages:
    16,747
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Okay, Caviar Blue v. Caviar Black.

    Is the speed increase of the Black actually worth the increased noise over the Blue?

    I have a Blue b/c my gf is going to use the box for recording, but I'd like the extra speed of the Black with it's 32 megs of cache and dual core. I'm not sure if the Black will be too loud though.

    Opinions?

    edit: I'll just play it safe and stick with the Blue. Even though the 500 GB Black is faster (and 5 dollars cheaper than the Blue on newegg, wtf?), seems based on the reviews though the Blacks fail in 1 to 2 years, and lots of people had DOAs also.
     
  16. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    RAID some SSD's and you'll have a blazing fast system at around 450mb/s (will run you $250 or so).

    Or nab another caviar blue and RAID 0 them. Should get you 160mb/s + which isn't too shabby.
     
  17. imschatz

    imschatz Senior member

    Messages:
    895
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    When I can get a 80GB SSD for under $150 CAD .. I'll build a new system. I've always wanted a ballin home theater set up with a HTPC that I can use as a standard desktop, but I find standard HDD's to be way to noisy in HTPC cases.

    Anyone have any insight into the effects of torrent downloads on SSD's? I know torrents trash HDD's (all the spinning/writing of small file pieces), but this should have minimal/no effect on SSD's right?
     
  18. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    When I can get a 80GB SSD for under $150 CAD .. I'll build a new system. I've always wanted a ballin home theater set up with a HTPC that I can use as a standard desktop, but I find standard HDD's to be way to noisy in HTPC cases.

    Anyone have any insight into the effects of torrent downloads on SSD's? I know torrents trash HDD's (all the spinning/writing of small file pieces), but this should have minimal/no effect on SSD's right?


    I believe that as long as the SSD drive has TRIM or some other garbage collecting capability you should be good to go.

    I know you can get the 64gb drives for ~$120 right now; maybe lower with sales/rebates. THe 128gb drives are still ~$220+.
     
  19. javyn

    javyn Senior member

    Messages:
    16,747
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    RAID some SSD's and you'll have a blazing fast system at around 450mb/s (will run you $250 or so). Or nab another caviar blue and RAID 0 them. Should get you 160mb/s + which isn't too shabby.
    Yeah I'll just wait until the SSDs go down in price. My friend tells me though if you are working off an SSD and there is a power outage, you lose all your data. I think that's BS though. I'll stick with the Caviar Blue I have. Seems after reading reviews the 500 GB blacks fail after a year or two, so I'll take reliability over a marginal speed increase. Also don't want to risk the loudness of the Caviar Black since gf is using this box as a recording studio. Save me from having to clone my partitions and move them over, redoing my MBR, reinstalling GRUB and all that mess. edit: About to pull the trigger on a dual core for my Dad. WD 500 GB Caviar Blue, Rosewill MicroATX mid tower, OCZ 500W modular, LiteON DVD burner, 2 gig G.Skill DDR2 800, ASUS M2N68-AM PLUS AM3/AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA Geforce 7025/nForce mobo, AMD Athlon X2 7850 Black Edition Kuma 2.8GHz Socket AM2+ OEM... All for 275 bucks after rebate. Man, that's an awesome deal. http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboB...t=Combo.419979
     
  20. whiteslashasian

    whiteslashasian Senior member

    Messages:
    11,811
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    For just a little more you can get an X3 Rana (comes with a HSF, which your combo doesn't) with a decent mobo that has ACC (unlocks cores and L3 cache if available). A good number of people are reporting the X3 rana chips to unlock to a full blown X4 Phenom II Deneb core.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.429004

    If it does unlock to that, you can trade it for your X4 Propus [​IMG]

    Get him a 2gb stick of value DDR3 ram ~$50 and you're looking at ~$140 after rebates for better ram, mobo, and MUCH better proc compared to the $132 combo you listed (again the X2 7850 doesn't include HSF so you're looking at least an extra $15). Much better value for very little money.
     

Share This Page

Styleforum is proudly sponsored by