Help - First Good Suit

Discussion in 'Classic Menswear' started by m carman, Mar 24, 2005.

1. m carman

m carman New Member

I stumbled accross SF late in February and have enjoyed it ever since. I have learned a ton about everything from hangers (I just ordered the ones from Walgreens that everyone seemed to recommend.) to ties.

I need help buying my first good suit, and could use some help. Actually, I'm looking to buy three suits over the next several months. I'm a lawyer in Salt Lake, and I'm a 40R. I would preferrably like to spend no more than $700 per suit, but if I need to go more to get something I love, I will.

Based on your recommendations (I think it was johnnynorman3) in an earlier thread, I want to start with a solid, charcoal grey, two-button with a slightly higher stance. I know that is fairly particular, so I'm flexible and open to your suggestions. If possible, I'm looking for a high-quality suit at eBay type prices. Salt Lake has a couple of decent stores, but with limited selection and only two sales a year. I have been searching eBay daily for a month and have seen nothing: either the fabrics have too much pattern for a good first suit or they're $1,300 for at Attolini, which I aspire to but can't afford right now.

Any advise would be very much appreciated.

2. drizzt3117

drizzt3117 Senior member

3. johnnynorman3

johnnynorman3 Senior member

Those will probably be too big -- the 52 won't fit unless he's actually more like a 41R.

4. drizzt3117

drizzt3117 Senior member

They had some 50Rs that i saw, I guess they are sage glen plaid, never mind unless he likes that color/pattern, they did have a dark grey windowpane as well but that may be too bold.

5. johnnynorman3